Rising Star Awards Entries Open- ENTER NOW

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks
bestmediainfo logo

D Shivakumar elected as new Chairman of ASCI

Shivakumar, Group Executive President, Corporate Strategy, Aditya Birla Group, has been a member of the Board of Governors for three years and earlier held the position of ASCI Vice-Chairman

D Shivakumar

D Shivakumar, Group Executive President, Corporate Strategy, Aditya Birla Group, was unanimously elected as the Chairman of the Board of The Advertising Standards Council of India (ASCI).

Also read: Is content a much-abused word these days?

As the member of the Board of Governors for three years, supporting self-regulation, Shivakumar is an accomplished business leader having spent over 19 years in sales, marketing and general management positions in consumer products and the luxury industry.

Also read: How content quality affects the organic distribution of content

Rohit Gupta, President, Network Sales and International Business, Sony Pictures Networks India Pvt Ltd, was elected as the Vice-Chairman and Shashidhar Sinha, CEO, Media Brands Pvt Ltd, was re-appointed as the Treasurer at a recent board meeting.

Shivakumar said, “I want to thank Abanti for her stewardship. We live in changing times with respect to information, media and trust of society. ASCI has been built on the foundation of self-regulation and the wisdom of the previous chairmen and the board. It’s my privilege to do the role now.”

Abanti Sankaranarayanan, the outgoing Chairman, said, “2017-18 has been another strong year for ASCI as we have made significant advancements towards building our organisational muscle, external credibility and strong collaborations. Our stringent guidelines, seamless processes and the dedication and hard work of our Consumer Complaints Council have contributed to restricting the use of misleading advertisements and enhance self-regulation. ASCI’s momentous achievements for the year include successful completion of the three-year collaboration with  the Department of Consumer Affairs, renewal of the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Food Safety Standards Authority of India, introduction of ‘Guidelines for Celebrities in Advertising’ and inclusion in AYUSH’s Empowered Committee to control misleading ads of AYUSH drugs. As the Chairman for ASCI for the year 2017-18, I am extremely proud to be a part of this journey and I am confident that under Shivakumar’s Chairmanship, ASCI will continue to grow swiftly and steadily.”

Members of the Board of Governors include Harish Bhat, Director, Tata Global Beverages Ltd; Subhash Kamath, Managing Partner, BBH Communications India Pvt Ltd; Sandeep Kohli, Executive Director and Vice-President, Personal Care Hindustan Unilever Ltd; S K Palekar, Adjunct Professor and Advisor, Executive Education Institute of Management Technology; N S Rajan, Managing Director, Ketchum Sampark Pvt Ltd; K V Sridhar, Founder and Chief Creative Officer (Director) Hyper Collective Creative Technologies Pvt Ltd; Abanti Sankaranarayanan, former Vice-Chairperson; Girish Agarwal, Director, Dainik Bhaskar Group; Madhusudan Gopalan, CEO, Procter & Gamble Hygiene and Health Care Ltd; Prasun Basu, President, South Asia Nielsen (India) Pvt Ltd; Sivakumar Sundaram, President, Revenue Bennett, Coleman & Co Ltd; Vikas Agnihotri, Director Sales, Google India Pvt Ltd; Umesh Shrikhande, CEO, Taproot India Comm Pvt. Ltd.


Post a Comment