Rising Star Awards 2022 - Winners

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks

Narendra Modi is CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2014

Winners across Politics, Sports, Entertainment, Business, Public Service and Global Indian categories were also announced

Narendra Modi is CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2014

Winners across Politics, Sports, Entertainment, Business, Public Service and Global Indian categories were also announced


Recognising the remarkable achievements and contributions of Indians who have tirelessly worked towards strengthening India’s foundation in the last calendar year, CNN-IBN has announced the winners of its Indian of the Year Award 2014. At the awards ceremony held in New Delhi, winners across Politics, Sports, Entertainment, Business, Public Service and Global Indian categories, among others, were announced and felicitated by the Chief Guest, Vice President of India, Mohammad Hamid Ansari.

Instituted in 2006, this is the ninth edition of CNN-IBN Indian of the Year. The awards adhere to a selection process that includes the IBN Editorial Board drawing a list of nominees, further ratified by a Jury panel, consisting of a select group of distinguished personalities, bestowed with the prestigious Padma honours.

The grand finale of the award ceremony will be telecast on CNN-IBN on Saturday, March 21 at 2 pm, followed by a repeat at 8 pm.

The winners across different categories are:

CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2014: Narendra Modi - In 2014, India witnessed an epic political battle, at the centre of which was none other than Narendra Modi. He has been elected Indian of the Year 2014 for making the story of Lok Sabha Elections 2014 - the story of Narendra Modi.

Politics: Arun Jaitley - For proving his dynamism by eliminating all ambiguity and unresolved leadership issues within the BJP, post the Vajpayee-Advani era.

Sports: Jitu Rai - For his phenomenal record in shooting that started in June 2014 with three World Cup Medals, including a Gold, followed by the Commonwealth Gold, a world championship Silver, an Olympic ticket and India’s first Gold at Incheon.

Business: N Chandrasekaran - For his ability to push boundaries that has made Tata Consultancy Services amongst the most valuable IT services companies in the world.

Entertainment: Chetan Bhagat - For being a literary superstar, whose bestsellers have been adapted into record breaking movies and who has introduced millions to English fiction.

Public Service: Tongam Rina, Associate Editor of Arunachal Times - For continuing her journalism of courage in the face of extreme adversity.

Global Indian: Satya Nadella, CEO, Microsoft - For successfully breaking the glass ceiling at the largest software company in the world.

Popular Choice: K Chandrasekhar Rao - For leading the oldest statehood movement of India to realisation and helping create India’s 29th state – Telangana.

P Vijayan, IPS: For being the force behind the Student Police Cadet Project and initiating several novel schemes to promote education among poor children.

Special Achievement: Kangana Ranaut - For being amongst the few actresses in the Hindi film industry to have successfully carried films as a protagonist.

Pankaj Advani: For adding to his amazing legacy in Billiards and Snooker and raising the profile of these sports in India.

Outstanding Achievement: Kailash Satyarthi - For being at the forefront of the movement to end child slavery.

Azim Premji: For launching the Azim Premji Philanthropic initiative in 2014 to fund non-profit organisations working in key areas like nutrition, disabilities and governance.

Lifetime Achievement: The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) - With a committed team of scientists and engineers, ISRO made its mark with Chandrayaan, its mission to the moon, and now with its Mars mission, Mangalyaan.

Speaking on the occasion, Avinash Kaul, CEO, IBN Network, said, “It has been our privilege to have felicitated some of the most successful Indians who have made the nation proud and set an example for all of us. I extend my heartfelt congratulations to all the winners of the CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2014.”

Radhakrishnan Nair, Managing Editor, CNN-IBN, added, “It is our great pride and pleasure that CNN-IBN Indian of the Year is considered one of the most prestigious awards in the country today. The award is our earnest effort to appreciate the outstanding contribution of our fellow Indians and their allegiance in making India shine. I wish all the winners hearty congratulations.”

Media Contact:

Akansha Dua 9711688969

Apoorva Verma 9953797337


Post a Comment