Rising Star Awards 2023- Winners

Best Media Info

Partner Content

Government nominates non-official members of National Startup Advisory Council

Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade nominated non-official members representing various stakeholders. Byju Raveendran, Deepak Garg, Mohandas Pai, Uday Shankar make it to the list

A year after the government constituted the ‘National Startup Advisory Council’ to build a strong ecosystem for start-ups in the country, it has nominated non-official members representing various stakeholders in the body. In a press note on Tuesday, the Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT) shared the list of non-official members. Their term will be for two years.

  • Byju Raveendran: Founder and CEO of edutech start-up Byju's. Releasing his app in 2015, it has grown into one of the world's most successful edutech start-ups. He is also currently in the list of top 100 Indian billionaires.
  • Shradha Sharma: Founder and CEO at YourStory Media. Starting the digital media platform in 2008, it has become India's biggest platform for start-ups and entrepreneurs-related stories, news, resources and research reports. They have also received investments from the likes of Ratan Tata and T. V. Mohandas Pai.
  • Lizzie Chapman: CEO and Co-Founder at ZestMoney, the largest and fastest-growing consumer lending fintech company in India. They were selected as a 2020 Technology Pioneer by the World Economic Forum.
  • Abhiraj Singh: Co-founder of Urban Company, an Indian gig marketplace that offers home, beauty and wellness services. Since its inception in November 2014, Urban Company has built a network of 30,000+ trained service professionals and served over 5 million customers.
  • Kunal Bahl: Co-Founder and CEO of the e-commerce platform Snapdeal. He has also been an investor in technology companies through his early stage investment firm, Titan Capital and has invested in over 150 start-ups.
  • Deepak Garg: Founder and CEO of logistics start-up Rivigo. Set up in 2014 with the idea of creating a relay truck model, Rivigo has grown to be a billion-dollar company.
  • Bhavish Aggarwal: Co-founder and CEO at Ola. Started in 2011, OlaCabs has become the largest network of personal transportation options within India. Within four years of its inception, Aggarwal was in the list of richest Indians.
  • Krishna Kumar: Founder and CEO of agri-tech company CropIn Technology. Launched in 2010, CropIn has so far digitised over 13 million acres of farmland and connected nearly 4 million farmers in addition to creating a footprint in 52 countries globally.
  • Sanjeev Bikhchandani: Co-founder of Info Edge, which owns platforms like naukri.com, jeevansathi.com, 99acres.com and other classified sites. He was awarded the Padma Shri Award in January 2020.
  • Sridhar Vembu: Founder and CEO of Zoho Corporation, an Indian multinational technology company. During the lockdown last year, he began working on a “rural school start-up” that will provide free education and food in Tenkasi.
  • Kris Gopalakrishnan: Chairman of Axilor Ventures, a venture capital platform for young entrepreneurs. He was the co-founder and the Executive Vice-Chairman of Infosys until 2014. He also served as President of the Confederation of Indian Industry.
  • Dr Subba Rao Pavuluri: Chairman and MD of Aerospace firm, Ananth Technologies.  The Hyderabad-based company is the first Indian company to tap the global market after India opened up its space sector for private firms to offer space services.
  • Mohandas Pai: Chairman of Aarin Capital Partners, a fund he co-founded with Manipal Group managing director Ranjan Pai to invest in life sciences and education companies. He is also a former director of Infosys and is a Padma Shri Awardee.
  • Gopal Srinivasan: Chairman and MD of TVS Capital Funds Limited. A third-generation member of the TVS family, he is also the founding member of "The Chennai Angels", Chennai's premier Angel Investor network.
  • Dr. Ramesh Byrapaneni: MD at Endiya Partners, a StartUp Venture Capital Fund that invests in ideas across Technology, Healthcare and Consumer Services. He is a cardiologist who turned into a venture capitalist.
  • Prashant Prakash: Partner at Accel. He focuses on consumer Internet services, online marketplaces, and SaaS and has led investments in BookMyShow, FabHotels, HomeLane, TeaBox among other early-stage companies.
  • Vani Kola: Founder and MD at Kalaari Capital, a leading early-stage venture capital firms. She has successfully led more than 30 investments in e-commerce, gaming, digital content, healthcare and more. Some of her successes include Dream11, Myntra, Cure.fit, and Snapdeal.
  • Manoj Kohli: Country Head at Softbank India. He is responsible for SoftBank Group, SoftBank Vision Fund, and their over 20 digital/AI-focused portfolio companies. He has previously served as the Managing Director and CEO at Bharti Airtel.
  • Rajan Anandan: MD at Sequoia Capital India. His focus is on developing Surge, Sequoia Capital India's rapid scale-up programme focused on early stage start-ups in India and SEA. He was earlier a Vice-President at Google and an MD at Microsoft.
  • Amitabha Bandyopadhyay: Professor at IIT Kanpur. He would be representing the Startup Incubation and Innovation Center (SIIC) of IIT Kanpur, which has supported several successful start-ups such as HelpUsGreen, Curadev Biopharma, Weather-Risk Advisory, GeoKno, and Aarav Unmanned Systems.
  • Kunal Upadhyay: Co-founder of CIIE, IIM Ahmedabad, India's first acceleration and seed-investing platform. They have backed seed stage start-ups across tech space. Their key investments include Ridlr and Thrillophilia with 30+ profitable exits so far.
  • Renuka Ramnath: Chairperson at Indian Private Equity & Venture Capital Association. The Founder and CEO of Multiples Asset Management Ltd., she is the first female chairperson of the association.  She was earlier the MD and CEO of ICICI Venture.
  • Venktesh Shukla: Currently a General Partner in Monta Vista Capital, he will be representing The IndUS Entrepreneurs (TiE). He is the Chairman and Trustee of TiE Global.
  • Sharad Sharma: Co-founder of Indian Software Product Industry Round Table (iSPIRT) Foundation, a non-profit technology think tank devoted to making India a product nation. He has three decades of experience in the Internet, Enterprise Software, and Digital Infrastructure markets and is a prominent voice in India's technology ecosystem.
  • Debjani Ghosh: President of National Association of Software and Service Companies (NASSCOM). Taking charge in 2018, she is the first woman to head the tech body in 30 years. She has worked in various positions at Intel Corporation.
  • Uday Kotak: President of the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII). The veteran banker is also the MD and CEO of Kotak Mahindra Bank.
  • Vineet Agarwal: President of Associated Chambers of Commerce and Industry of India (ASSOCHAM). He is the Managing Director of Transport Corporation of India Ltd. (TCIL).
  •  Uday Shankar: President of Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry (FICCI). He has recently stepped down from his role as President of Disney Company Asia Pacific and Chairman of Star and Disney India.


Post a Comment