Call for entries open for BuzzInContent Awards 2020 Enter Now

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks
Cannes Lions 2019

Guest Times

Radio City awards the best in Indie music

The finale of the Radio City Freedom Awards was held at Kingdom Of Dreams, Delhi, and felicitated winners from among 460 entries

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | December 8, 2014

Radio-City-Freedom-Awards-2014Radio City Freedom Awards 2014 drew to a grand culmination with the best in the Indie music arena being honoured. The grand finale that was held at Kingdom Of Dreams, Delhi, on December 3, witnessed a high energy and enthusiasm. Radio City Freedom Awards 2014, in its second season, received more than 460 entries across genres of Hip-Hop/Rap, Folk Fusion, Pop, Rock, Metal, Electronica, Video and Album Art.

Nominations for the awards attracted some of the biggest names from the Indie music circuit - Brodha V, Bombay Bassment, Laxmi Bomb, Swarathma, Junkyard Groove and The F16’s. The entries across all the categories were judged by an esteemed jury consisting of Atul Churamani, Yotam Agam, Nandini Srikar, Luke Kenny, Subir Malik and Suneeta Rao.

‘Faridkot’ mesmerised everyone with their Sufi tracks to kick-start the musical manoeuvre. Excitement built up further as 2013’s ‘Best Hip Hop Artiste’ Brodha V took over the proceedings. He got everyone's foot tapping to his award-winning song ‘Indian Flava’ and left the audience craving for more. Gaurav Raina, aka GRAIN, one-half of Midival Punditz, took the level of music to a new level with his electronic renditions. The evening reached its crescendo as composer, singer and songwriter Raghu Dixit took the audience by storm and drew curtains on a fantastic evening.

‘Coshish’ won in the Rock category (Jury Choice), while ‘Symphony Novel’ left behind all others in the Metal category (Popular Choice).  Electronica and Hip-Hop brought in some new names. The new categories that were added drew a lot of attention and brought to the fore several new faces. The talented artiste ‘Natania Lalwani’ won the 'Best Young Indie Artiste', while ‘Ram Sampath featuring Bhanvari Devi & Hard Kaur’ walked away with the 'Best Indie Collaboration of the year'. The awards not just celebrated talent, but also brought together the best in the business in the indie music space under one roof.

Apurva Purohit Apurva Purohit

Speaking on the award night, Apurva Purohit, CEO, Radio City 91.1 FM, said, “Radio City Freedom Awards is more than just an award function. It fulfils the need for recognition in the independent music space which is the space where true innovation is really happening. This year we have made a conscious effort to reach out to as many s as possible, in order to make sure that everyone gets a platform to showcase their creativity. We are glad that our efforts have paid off, and we hope that through Radio City Freedom Awards, indie music s get to reach out to a wide audience and make further inroads in the music industry.”

Final Winners List:
Sr. No Category Jury's Choice
1 Best Album Art Artiste Symphony Novel
2 Best Indie Collaboration Artiste Ram Sampath featuring Bhanvari Devi & Hard Kaur
3 Best Electronica Artiste Dualist Inquiry
4 Best Folk/Fusion Artiste Papon featuring Harshdeep Kaur
5 Best Hip/ Hop Artiste Divine
6 Best Metal Artiste Cosmic Infusion
7 Best Pop Artiste Natania Lalwani
8 Best Rock Artiste Coshish
9 Best Video Artiste (Tie) Swarathma
Bickram Ghosh
10 Best Young Indie Artiste Natania Lalwani
Sr. No Category Popular Choice
1 Best Electronica Artiste The Dirty Code
2 Best Folk/Fusion Artiste Samved
3 Best Hip/ Hop Artiste Divine
4 Best Metal Artiste Symphony Novel
5 Best Pop Artiste Natania Lalwani
6 Best Rock Artiste Rohit Vasudevan Diaries


Post a Comment