Shortlists announced for Rising Star Awards 2021 [VIEW]

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks

Network18 & NDTV channels bag 5 awards each at Ramnath Goenka Awards

Indian Express leads in Print at the fifth edition of awards recognising outstanding work done in 2009

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | January 17, 2012

The Express Group celebrated excellence in contemporary Indian journalism at a glittering function Monday evening, by honouring 36 of the country's best journalists at the fifth Ramnath Goenka Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The awards, instituted by the Express Group, recognised outstanding work done in 2009 and was given away by Vice President Hamid Ansari at the Taj Palace Hotel, New Delhi.

Stories awarded highlighted a range of issues, from Naxalism to economic slowdown, dying rivers to devastating floods, addressing contemporary India and its myriad challenges. As jury member and former Indian ambassador to the US, Naresh Chandra has said: “The entries included a broad range of subjects and the stories addressed a wide range of concerns.”

The awards were instituted by the Express Group in 2006 to acknowledge and celebrate stories that needed to be told while adhering to the highest standards of ethics.

Besides Chandra, the 10-member jury included N R Narayana Murthy, mentor and founder, Infosys; Dr M S Swaminathan, agricultural scientist and Rajya Sabha MP; Shobhana Bhartia, vice-chairperson and editorial director, HT Media Limited; Bakul Dholakia, former IIM-A director; Rama Bijapurkar, leading management consultant; Shyam Benegal, filmmaker; Deepak Parekh, HDFC chairman; legal luminary Fali S Nariman and Keshub Mahindra, chairman, Mahindra & Mahindra.

List of winners of ‘The Ramnath Goenka Awards for Excellence in Jounalism 2012’:

Award Categories Winners Publication/Channel


Uncovering India Invisible Shikha Trivedy NDTV
Hindi Hridayesh Joshi NDTV India
Film & Television Journalism Archana Sharma Lok Sabha
Regional Languages Prakash Noolvi TV9
Sports Journalism Anjali Doshi NDTV
Reporting from J&K & the North East Arijit Sen CNN IBN
Environmental Reporting Arti Dattatray Kulkarni IBN Lokmat
Business & Economic Journalism Shaili Chopra ET Now
Investigative Reporting Rajat Kain NDTV India
On-the-spot Reporting Preeti Singh CNN IBN
Reporting on Politics and Government Anubha Bhonsle CNN IBN
Maya Mirchandani NDTV
Ramnath Goenka Journalist of the Year Udayan Mukherjee CNBC TV 18


Prakash Kardaley Memorial Award for Civic Journalism Tripti Lahiri Tehelka
Uncovering India Invisible Maitreyee Handique Mint
Hindi Anshuman Tiwari Dainik Jagran
Film & Television Journalism Shubhra Gupta The Indian Express
Sonal Kalra HT City
Books (non-fiction) The Hindus-An Alternative story Wendy Doniger Penguin
Regional Languages V.P. Regeena Madhyamam Daily
Sports Journalism G.S. Vivek The Indian Express
Reporting from J&K & the North East Teresa Rehman Tehelka
Environmental Reporting Rahul Chandrawarkar DNA
Samanth Subramanian Mint
Business & Economic Journalism Puja Mehra and Saumya Bhattacharya Business Today
Foreign Correspondent Covering India Anuj Chopra The National Newspaper
James Astill The Economist
Investigative Reporting Y.P. Rajesh The Indian Express Team
On-the-spot Reporting Muzamil Jaleel The Indian Express
Commentary & Interpretative  writing R. Sukumar Mint
Reporting on Politics and Government Maneesh Chibber The Indian Express
Sujith Nair Malayala Manorama
Priya Chandrasekhar Memorial Award for Excellence in Editing Raghav Ohri The Indian Express
Sanjiv Sinha Memorial Award for Excellence in Editing Daksh Panwar The Indian Express
Ramnath Goenka Journalist of the Year J Gopikrishnan The Pioneer


Post a Comment