News as it is -

Best Media Info

Partner Content

Nominations for the 2nd GIMA Awards announced

This year’s celebrations to take place at the Kingdom of Dreams in Gurgaon, late September.

Nominations for the 2nd GIMA Awards announced

This year’s celebrations to take place at the Kingdom of Dreams in Gurgaon, late September.

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | August 11, 2011

The Global Indian Music Academy has announced the nominees for the 2nd Chevrolet Global Indian Music Academy (GIMA) Awards. After the phenomenal success of the Awards last year, preparations are underway to hold this year’s celebrations at the Kingdom of Dreams in Gurgaon, late September. Supported by all constituents of the Music industry, GIMA is a pioneering effort by Wizcraft International Entertainment to recognize Indian music transcending genres in the country, whilst giving the music industry a unified platform to celebrate its talent.

Among the major films that released during the eligibility period of the Awards, leading the film-based nominations are Anjaana-Anjaani, Band Baaja Baaraat, Dabangg, Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai, Rajneeti and Tees Maar Khan.

The nightingale of India, Asha Bhosle has been nominated for Best Semi-Classical Album for her album Naina Lagaike which she released in collaboration with  Ustaad Shujaat Khan. Also nominated in the same category are Ustad Rashid Khan, Hariharan and others.

Hit songstress, Sunidhi Chauhan holds five nominations including those for the Best Playback Singer (Female) category for her songs Ainvayi Ainvayi, Sheila Ki Jawani and Udi. Usha Uthup and Rekha Bhardwaj (Darling) and Mamta Sharma (Munni Badnaam) have also been nominated in this category. New to the film music scene, Mamta Sharma also garners three nominations including a Best Music Debut nomination along with the Bhadwai Village Mandal for Peepli Live and Director turned composer Sanjay Leela Bhansali, for Guzaarish, among others.

In the Film-Music genre, for Best Lyricist prominent names come to play garnering a nomination for Gulzar (Darling), Amitabh Bhattacharya (Ainvayi Ainvayi), Irshad Kamil (Pee Loon), Vishal Dadlani (Tujhe Bhula Diya), Faaiz Anwaar (Tere Mast Mast Do Nain) and duo Vishal-Shekhar (Aas Paas Khuda). Incidentally both Vishal Dadlani and Shekhar Ravjiani have six nominations respectively for their work in film music this year for the hit music albums for Anjaana Anjaani and Tees Maar Khan.

A new category addition to the Chevrolet GIMA Awards is the Best Pop-Rock Single. Nominations include Indian Idol 5 winner Sreeram, Raghav Sachar, Advaita and the band Agnee who garner two nominations for their songs, Aahatein and Jee Lay Abhi (featuring Anushka Manchanda).

Also in the Non-Film Music genre, last year’s GIMA winner Kavita Seth has been nominated in the Best Popular Music Album category alongside Ankur Tewari for his debut album ‘Jannat’, among others.  Other illustrious names come to the fore in the Best Devotional Album nominations showcasing albums by Ustad Rashid Khan, Jagjit Singh, Shreya Ghosal, Paramita Majumdar, Kaushiki Chakrabarty and Richa Sharma who incidentally has two nods in this category.

Designed on a peer-based voting system, GIMA nominees were adjudged by a large jury comprising 33 illustrious members from the Indian music fraternity. The final winners for GIMA will be voted upon by the GIMA Academy comprising 250 members, encompassing lyricists, singers, technicians, instrumentalists, music directors, music producers and film directors. The Academy Voting will be held later in August to choose the final winners.

The awards process for this year has been streamlined further. The non-film music categories have included genres such as pop, rock and folk music from across the country. Additionally a specific category has incorporated digital music releases. This endeavor brings onto the platform a set of artists who aren’t represented by the traditional music labels.

Chevrolet GIMA Awards 2011 has received a phenomenal response with over 40 prominent films and 160 non-film albums vying for the prestigious awards, tallying to a total of over 1500 entries. The GIMA Advisory Board comprises some of the most prominent contributors and influencers of the Indian music industry. They include Atul Churamani, Bhushan Kumar, Dr. L. Subramaniam, Hariharan, Javed Akhtar, Karan Johar, Kumar Taurani, Mukesh Bhatt, Prasoon Joshi, Pt. Shiv Kumar Sharma, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra, Resul Pookuty, Shankar Mahadevan, Shubha Mugdal, Sunil Lulla, Vijay Lazarus and Vishal Bhardwaj.

Post a Comment