CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2011 unveils nominees of Public Service category

Voting lines open for the public to choose their own icons from the nominees in this category

BestMediaInfo Bureau
New Update

CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2011 unveils nominees of Public Service category

December 2, 2011:

publive-imageAfter revealing the nominees in Business, Sports and Entertainment categories, CNN-IBN has announced the nominees for Public service category for Indian of the Year 2011.

The nominees under Public Service category are as follows:

  • ANNA HAZARE AND TEAM: For leading an unprecedented uprising against corruption and changing the nature of political discourse in India.

To Vote: SMS IPUB 1 to 51818

  • ASSOCIATION OF PARENTS DISAPPEARED PERSONS (APDP): For relentlessly highlighting the issue of missing persons in Kashmir, and forcing the government and rights groups to acknowledge and act.

To Vote: SMS IPUB 2 to 51818

  • AZIM PREMJI: For being a rare corporate captain to donate an unprecedented amount of personal wealth for improving education across India

To Vote: SMS IPUB 3 to 51818

  • SUBRAMANIAN SWAMY: For sheer diligence, doggedness and consistency in pursuing the 2G scam, which finally forced prosecution to take action

To Vote: SMS IPUB 4 to 51818

  • VINOD RAI, COMPTROLLER AND AUDITOR GENERAL OF INDIA: For being a rare bureaucrat who stuck to an audit report which highlighted unprecedented government corruption

To Vote: SMS IPUB 5 to 51818

  • WOMEN GUN SURVIVORS NETWORK: For outstanding work in helping the women of Manipur, who undergo trauma because of violence in the conflict-hit state

To Vote: SMS IPUB 6 to 51818

Vote and applaud for the achiever who with his/her unflinching dedication has emerged as the best in Public Service category. Log on to to cast your vote.

Speaking on the occasion, Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN, IBN7 & IBN- Lokmat said, “It is with great pride that we announce the nominees of this year's edition of the Indian of the Year Awards. Each passing year, gives us an opportunity to identify those rare individuals who have forged a blazing path in their chosen fields.”