Times Now honours 11 exceptional Indians at Amazing Indians Awards 2023

BestMediaInfo Bureau
Updated On
New Update
Times Now honours 11 exceptional Indians at Amazing Indians Awards 2023

Times Now’s Amazing Indians Awards 2023 recognised and honoured the unwavering spirit of 11 Amazing Indians who, through their courage, resolve, and selfless deeds, have profoundly influenced the lives of others.

The Chief Guests for the event, Piyush Goyal, Union Minister of Commerce & Industry, Consumer Affairs & Food & Public Distribution and Textiles and Smriti Irani, Union Minister for Women and Child Development delivered the keynote addresses and felicitated the winners along with the Jury members.

The grandeur ceremony also witnessed a special Jugalbandi performance by Anuradha Pal, India's First Female Tabla Maestro and a captivating musical presentation by the exceptionally talented members of Shreerang Charitable Trust.

Amazing Indian Awards 2023 winners felicitated across 11 categories included Dr. Jayakumar Karuppusamy (Agriculture), M. Vignesh alias Sai Vignesh (Animal Wesslfare), Mamoon Akhtar(Education), Amita Deshpande (Environment & Climate), Raj Kumar Bhatia (Food Management and Nutrition), Sukla Debnath (Girl Child and Women's Rights Empowerment), Manjunath Ningappa Pujari (Healthcare, Medical & Clinical Assistance), Shruti Chaturvedi (Rural Development), Makarand Anaspure (Sanitation and Water), Nisha Malawat (Slum Care) and Yash Tarwadi (Tech For Good).

The winners were shortlisted through an exhaustive pan-India screening process by an esteemed panel of jury comprising General M. M. Naravane, Prasoon Joshi, Ritesh Agarwal, Anand Kumar, Dr. S. Rangarajan and Sonam Wangchuk and duly evaluated by Ernst & Young (Process Partner).

In a historic moment, Dr. Veeramuthuvel, Project Director of Chandrayan-3 at ISRO, and Dr. Nigar Shaji, Project Director of Aditya - L1 Mission at ISRO, were honoured for their remarkable contributions to India's space endeavours.

MK Anand, MD & CEO, Times Network, said, "As India's most influential news leader, Times Now has played a pivotal role in driving change and action. Amazing Indians Awards is our initiative to highlight the extraordinary achievements of ordinary Indians who have made a positive impact on society. Over the years, the platform has featured the remarkable journeys of over 500 such individuals, each of whom has crafted a legacy through courage, determination, and an unwavering spirit. I am confident that the stories of these 'Amazing Indians' will inspire a new generation of changemakers, contributing to a better India."

Goyal, Union Minister of Commerce & Industry, Consumer Affairs & Food & Public Distribution and Textiles, lauded Times Now for hosting the Amazing Indians Awards.

"This is a fantastic platform, and I was impressed by the quality of the selection of the award nominees.  Humble beginnings getting recognized at the start is wonderful and these small seeds will grow into big trees in the future. All the nominees will go back more changed and determined to do even better," Goyal said.

He went on to add, "The Amazing Indians is an important programme for the ambitions of India's youth. Such Amazing Indians will power our journey and meet greater objectives of the nation and indeed the world."

Goyal also took the opportunity to congratulate ISRO scientists Dr Veeramuthuvel and Dr Nigar Shaji for their role in India's space endeavours. He led the audience in giving a standing ovation to the scientists.

Congratulating the winners, Goyal asserted, “The government has been working hard for the public good. Whether it was bringing tap water to every home or enabling 4 crore families to benefit under PM Awas Yojana, the government has taken steps to ensure food security, especially during lockdowns.”

He said, “80 crore Indians got twice the allocation of grain and not a single starvation death was reported in any state. This is a huge achievement.”

Delivering the keynote address, Irani expressed her delight at the inspiring stories of the Amazing Indians who were honoured at the event. She also congratulated Times Now for assembling a jury of immense talent and diversity.

"I am proud and humbled to share this platform with these Amazing Indians. Each one of these illustrious persons who are being honoured here today represents to the whole world what New India represents for our future," she stated.

Speaking about ISRO and the Moon Landing, she said, “From the Dark Side of the Moon, a new light was shown to the world, showing what we are capable of."

She congratulated ISRO's Women Scientists, especially "Nigar ji (Project Director, Aditya - L1 Mission, ISRO) and emphatically said that she (Nigar) is part of an organization that does not have a glass ceiling, where capability demands and decides opportunity, and that is all that New India is about."

She concluded by stating that this stage represents not only a civilizational empathy towards fellow living beings, but also represents grit, determination and grace.

The Times Now Amazing Indians Awards 2023 night left an indelible mark, celebrating the unwavering spirit of those who have gone above and beyond to create a positive and lasting impact on society.

Jury Members:

General M. M. Naravane, PVSM, AVSM, SM, VSM (RETD), Former Chief of the Army Staff, Indian Army, Prasoon Joshi, Chairman, McCann Worldgroup Asia Pacific and CEO & CCO, McCann Worldgroup India, Ritesh Agarwal, Founder and Group CEO, OYO, Anand Kumar, Founder, Super 30,  Dr. S. Rangarajan Former Director ISRO, MCF, ISTRAC & Satcomm and Sonam Wangchuk, Social Reformist, Ramon Magsaysay Awardee.


Times Now MK Anand Amazing Indians Awards 2023