Indian Express, India Today TV and The Quint journalists among Ramnath Goenka Awards winners

The 14th edition of the Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards honoured journalists from print, broadcast and digital media on January 20

BestMediaInfo Bureau
New Update
Indian Express, India Today TV and The Quint journalists among Ramnath Goenka Awards winners

Journalists from Indian Express, India Today TV and The Quint among others emerged winners at the 14th edition of the Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards in New Delhi on January 20.

President Ram Nath Kovind, who was the chief guest at the event, said the award honours those journalists from print, broadcast and digital media who have maintained the highest standards of their profession. He also said the winners, despite immense challenges, produced work that sustains public trust in the media and impacts the lives of people.

Here’s the full list of winners of the RNG awards this year:

Reporting from Conflict Zones

Dipankar Ghose, Indian Express (Print/Digital): For Stories told from the deep jungles of Bastar that often get lost in the State vs Maoists binary

Dheeraj Kumar, Late Achyuta Nanda Sahu and Mormukut Sharma, Doordarshan (Broadcast): The DD News team came under Naxal attack while covering the Chhattisgarh elections from Nilavaya village. Sahul lost his life in the attack.

Hindi reporting

Diti Bajpai, Gaon Connection (Print/Digital): For her seven-part series on rising instances of sexual assault on minors

Shadab Ahmad Moizee, (Broadcast): For his report on the agonising wait of families whose dear ones went missing in the 2013 Muzaffarnagar riots

Regional Languages

Anwesha Banarjee, EI Samay (Print/Digital): For her stories on human trafficking told through the livest of the women of a nomadic tribe

Saneesh TK, Manorama News (Broadcast): For bringing out the devastation in Wayanad through people who lost homes, friends and relatives in the August 2018 floods.

Environment, Science & Technology reporting

Mridula Chari & Vinita Govindrajan, (Print/Digital): For their two-part investigation on how tax regulations allowed farmers to use at least 99 lethal chemical as pesticides.

Sarvapriya Sangwan, BBC News Hindi (Broadcast): For capturing the impact uranium mining was leaving on the life of the indigenous people and the environment in Jadugoda, Jharkhan

Uncovering India Invisible

Hina Rohtaki, The Indian Express (Print/Digital): For her stories of people in Morni, Haryana, who would wad through the Ghaggar river or walk over a 20-foot high pipeline to get to school or work.

Asmita Nandy and Meghnad Bose, (Broadcast): For thier documentary that uncovered why lynchings carried out in the name of the cow have become a new normal.

Business & Economic Journalism

Nidhi Verma, Thomson Reuters (Print/Digital): For the economic and politics of sanctions, as India came under pressure from the US to stop importing oil from Iran.

Politics & Government

Sushant Kumar Singh, The Indian Express (Print/Digital): For some of the biggest breaks of the year – from Rafale talks to details of the Naga accord.

Moumita Sen, India Today TV, Shikha, India Today TV (Broadcast): For their show ‘Election Influencer’ that looked at the nuts and bolts ot the giant election machinery.

Investigative Reporting

Teena Thacker, Mint (Print/Digital): For her stories detailing the pain that Indian victims of Johnson & Johnson’s faulty hip implants went through.

Poonam Agarwal, (Broadcast): For her investigation on whether donations made through the electoral bond scheme were, in fact, anonymous as claimed by the government.

Civic journalism

Aniruddha Ghosal, (Print/Digital): For his investigation that revealed that the UP government’s claim of having controlled encephalitis was based on data that didn’t quite add up.


C Suresh Kumar, The Times of India (Print/Digital): For zooming into places, faces away from headlines, like the heat and dust of Jallikattu, and soccer players queuing up before a yellow plastic pot

Books (Non-Fiction)

Gyan Prakash (Print): For his book, Emergency Chronicles, which takes us back to Independence to try understanding the darkest two years in India’s democracy.

The RNG Award winners were chosen by an eminent jury that included Tom Goldstein, Professor and Dean, Jindal School of Journalism & Communication, O P Jindal Global University; S Y Quraishi, former Chief Election Commissioner; Pamela Philipose, journalist and Senior Fellow at the Indian Council of Social Science Research; and, former Supreme Court judge, Justice BN Srikrishna.

Indian Express The Quint India Today TV Ramnath Goenka Awards winners