Rising Star Awards 2021 Entries Open - Enter Now

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks

New York Festivals 2019 Radio Awards open for entries

The deadline to enter the competition is March 15, 2019

Worldwide since 1982, New York Festivals Radio Awards is now open for entries. The deadline to enter the competition is March 15, 2019. The winners will be felicitated at the annual gala in New York City on Monday, June 24, 2019.

Building on last year’s category reorganization, the competition once again added new categories with respect to today’s robust radio industry.


New categories for 2019 include: Best Audio Book – Children’s, Best Digital Esports and Human Rights Documentary. NYF expanded its Podcast categories to include Serialized Podcast, Companion Podcast, and Narrative/ Documentary Podcast.

“Listeners everywhere are embracing the expanded audio universe and they are clamouring for authentic storytelling experiences from direct-to-digital podcasts and documentaries, to audiobooks and esports coverage,” said Rose Anderson, Vice President and Executive Director of New York Festivals Radio Awards, “Our Advisory Board and industry leaders have been a great help as we continue to recognize innovation and excellence.”


New York Festivals enlists jurists from around the world to become members of their world-class Radio Awards Grand Jury. Jurors include some of the most world’s recognizable voices and captivating content producers in the radio industry. Entries are judged on production values, organization, presentation of information, creativity, and use of the medium.

The Radio Awards receives entries from radio stations, networks, and independent producers from over 30 countries around the globe. The mission of the competition is to honour the achievements of the men and women who make up the worldwide creative community.

In 2018, New York Festivals Grand Jury awarded four Grand Awards: “Born This Way” TBI Media, UK; “Am I going to die in here?” Campus/Canadian Broadcasting Corporation; “The Reckoning” Guardian Australia and “BBC Radio 1 Vintage” BBC UK.  RTÉ Radio Ireland earned Broadcaster of the Year and TBI Media United Kingdom earned Production Company of the Year.

Since 1990, NYF and the United Nations Department of Public Information have offered the opportunity for the competition’s entrants to be awarded the United Nations Department of Public Information Award. This award honours radio that best exemplifies the ideals and goals of the United Nations. “The Current - ISIS on your doorstep” Canadian Broadcasting Corporation earned the 2018 UNDPI Gold Award. 


Post a Comment