Vivek Chaand Sehgal wins Forbes India 'Entrepreneur for the Year 2018' Award

India Inc's brightest entrepreneurs were honoured at the Forbes India Leadership Awards held in Mumbai. Business legend Azim Premji was honoured with the 'Lifetime Achievement' award

BestMediaInfo Bureau
New Update
Vivek Chaand Sehgal wins Forbes India 'Entrepreneur for the Year 2018' Award

The Forbes India Leadership Awards, the prestigious business awards that lays emphasis on excellence, innovation and transformational leadership, honoured some of India Inc’s brightest personalities at a ceremony in Mumbai on November 22.

The awards, across nine categories, acknowledged the outstanding contribution of CEOs, entrepreneurs and business leaders who have built enterprises that have had a deep and enduring impact on the wider Indian society. The nominees and winners represented diverse backgrounds: Startups and mid-sized firms to the more mature organisations operating at a global scale.

Brian Carvalho, Editor, Forbes India, said, “The winners of the Forbes India Leadership Awards have found a balanced path to guide their organisations to success year after year. They command authority, as well as respect, and yet believe in flat organisational structures, decentralised decision-making and empowered teams. Change is something they embrace gracefully. The Forbes India Leadership Awards strives to recognise these changemakers and nation builders.”

Here are the winners of the Forbes India Leadership Awards 2018:

Outstanding Startup: R Narayan of Power2SME

GenNext Entrepreneur: Adar Cyrus Poonawalla of Serum Institute of India

Entrepreneur with Social Impact: Gayathri Vasudevan of LabourNet

Conscious Capitalist Company for the Year: Narayana Health

Best CEO - Multinational Company: Sanjiv Mehta of Hindustan Unilever Ltd

Best Company - Public Sector: Saurabh Kumar of Energy Efficiency Services Limited

Best CEO - Private Sector: Rajeev Jain of Bajaj Finance

Lifetime Achievement Award for the Year: Azim Premji of Wipro Limited

Entrepreneur for the Year: Vivek Chaand Sehgal of Motherson Sumi Systems

The process started almost six months ago with extensive research on qualitative and quantitative parameters. The long-list of names for each category was whittled down by August and was narrowed down to a strong set of three to five nominees for each category.

In September, a high-powered jury headed by Harsh Mariwala, Chairman of Marico Ltd, examined the nominations and came up with the set of winners. The other eminent members of the jury were Saurabh Mukherjea, Founder, Marcellus Investment Managers; Sanjay Nayar, CEO, KKR India; Ashu Suyash, MD and CEO, Crisil; Ronnie Screwvala, Co-Founder of UpGrad; and Noshir Kaka, Senior Partner, McKinsey & Company India.

KPMG, Forbes India’s knowledge partner for the event, helped with the number crunching so essential for the process.

Forbes India Entrepreneur for the Year 2018 Award Vivek Chaand Sehgal