News as it is -

Best Media Info

Partner Content

Sabeena Karnik in Typography Jury for ADC 97th Annual Awards

Karnik is the paper typographer and illustrator from Mumbai

Sabeena Karnik

The One Club for Creativity, the world’s foremost non-profit organization celebrating creative excellence in advertising and design, today announced the full juries for Typography, Illustration and Photography in the prestigious ADC 97th Annual Awards.

The Typography jury includes Sabeena Karnik, paper typographer and illustrator from Mumbai. 

In accordance with the 50/50 Initiative (, launched by ADC in 2013 to promote equal participation for women and men on award show juries, boards of directors, event panels and speaker lineups, this year's Typography, Illustration and Photography juries are gender balanced with 16 women and 14 men representing 14 countries.  

They will judge work from around the world based on the show’s historic focus of honoring the best in craft, design and innovation.  Entries can be submitted via, deadline is January 31, 2018. 

The juries are as follows:


Jean François Porchez, founder, Typofonderie, type director, ZeCraft, Clamart, France (jury chair)

Nadine Chahine, UK type director, legibility expert, Monotype, Ltd., London, UK

Becca Clason, lettering artist, Salt Lake City, UT, USA

Martina Flor, founder, creative director, Studio Martina Flor, Berlin, Germany

Tobias Frere-Jones, founder, design director, Frere-Jones Type, New York, NY, USA

Tolga Girgin, calligraphy artist, electrical engineer, Eskişehir, Turkey

Sabeena Karnik, paper typographer, illustrator, Mumbai, India

Mitch Paone, founder, creative director, DIA, Brooklyn, NY, USA

Alex Trochut, creative director, typographer, Brooklyn, NY, USA

Liron Lavi Turkenich, typeface designer, researcher, Haifa, Israel


Fumihito Katamura, photographer, Fumihito Katamura Photograph Office, Tokyo, Japan (jury chair)

Nazik Armenakyan, documentary photographer, cofounder, 4Plus Documentary Photography Centre, Yerevan, Armenia

Geoff Green, photographer, Geoff Green Photography, New York, NY, USA

Karolis Janulis, artist, Vilnius, Lithuania

Osborne Macharia, commercial photographer, Afrofuturism artist, Nairobi, Kenya

Cait Oppermann, photographer, Brooklyn, NY, USA

Christine Reilly, photo director, WWE Digital Media, New York, NY, USA

Jane Samuels, photographer, artist, Manchester, UK

Tim Tadder, photographer, director, Tim Tadder Photography, Encinitas, CA, USA

Juliet Taylor, photographer, director, Darlinghurst, Australia


Anita Kunz, illustrator, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (jury chair)

Marion Deuchars, illustrator, author, Marion Deuchars Ltd., London, UK

Lisk Feng, illustrator, Rego Park, NY, USA

Emily Flake, cartoonist, illustrator, Brooklyn, NY, USA

Tatsuro Kiuchi, illustrator, painter, Tokyo, Japan

Tea Leigh, tattoo artist, Welcome Home Studio, Brooklyn, NY, USA

Emiliano Ponzi, illustrator, Milan, Italy

Brian Rea, illustrator, artist, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Yuko Shimizu, illustrator, New York, NY, USA

Zipeng Zhu, creative director, Dazzle, New York, NY, USA

“Typography, Illustration and Photography have always played an important role in the ADC Annual Awards,” said Michael O’Rourke, executive director, ADC, part of The One Club for Creativity.  “This year’s group of jurors are talented creative leaders who are highly qualified to judge work in their respective fields through the lens of excellence in craft, design and innovation.”

Full ADC 97th Annual Awards juries for Advertising, Brand/Communication Design, Experiential Design, Interactive, Packaging/Product Design, Publication Design and Motion/Film Craft will be announced shortly.

Post a Comment