Entries open for BuzzInContent Awards 2021 - ENTER NOW to avail Early Bird offer until October 22

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks

Radio City honours Indie artists at fourth edition of Freedom Awards

The awards witnessed the biggest names of Indie music as the grand finale was hosted in Mumbai. It witnessed a line-up of artistes take centre stage and audience grooving to special performances by renowned Indie talent

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Mumbai | March 24, 2017


In its fourth edition, Radio City Freedom Awards (RCFA) acknowledged the best of Indie talent, culminated with a grand finale in Mumbai on March 22.

After receiving an overwhelming response from Radio City Freedom concert in six cities – Bangalore, Pune, Jaipur, Delhi, Chennai and Kolkata, the grand award night witnessed a line-up of artistes take centre stage and audience grooving to special performances by renowned Indie talent like Aisi Taisi Democracy, Paradigm Shift, Sukanti and Anushree and Mumbai’s finest. The event was streamed live on Facebook and will also be broadcast on television on April 29 and 30 from 1 pm to 2:30 pm on Channel V.

Abraham Thomas Abraham Thomas

Abraham Thomas, CEO, Radio City, said, “Radio City Freedom Awards is the only established and credible platform that recognises and felicitates Indie music and talent across the country and has been a grand success for four years. We are elated to take it to the next level this year with a super-hit musical sojourn across six cities with live gigs bringing alive a connect with our listeners. The campaign had an amplified reach with 360 promotions across print, TV, on air, digital, outdoor and on ground over a period of three months. The overwhelming response garnered with the increase in number of registrations and passionate voting this year validates the popularity and reach of the property amongst our listeners.”

Rachna-Kanwar Rachna Kanwar

Rachna Kanwar, COO, Digital, Jagran Group, said, “Radio City Freedom Awards (RCFA) is more than just an award function. It accomplishes the need for acknowledgement in the independent music space which is the space where true revolution is really happening. There is immense talent all across the country that is waiting to be heard and we are happy to take their music to millions of listeners through our theme for Radio City Freedom Awards 4.0 -- Sounds of the Soil.  This year we have made a conscious effort to reach out to as many artists as possible in order to make sure that everyone gets a platform to showcase their creativity.”

The evening saw established and new Indie musicians walk away with top honours at the awards gala. The awards were categorised into the ‘Jury Choice’ and ‘People's Choice’ awards. The ‘Jury Choice Award’ across each category was judged by a power-packed jury comprising Bobin James, Atul Churamani, Luke Kenny, Nandini Srikar, Yotam Agam, Munbir Chawla, Vijay Basrur, Naveen Deshpande and Amit Gurbaxani

Neeraj Arya’s Kabir café walked away as the Best Folk Fusion Artist, Jury Choice; while Carnage Inc was awarded the Best Metal Artist, Popular Choice. While Shadow and Light bagged the Best Pop Artist Jury Choice; Midival Punditz, Papon, Malini Awasthi were awarded Indie-Collaboration Jury Choice.

The awards night was hosted by Cyrus Sahukar at the Hard Rock Café Worli.



List of winners is as below:

Popular Choice
Category Artist names
Best Hip Hop Artist Emiway
Best Pop Artist Sanket Sane & Rimi Nique
Best Rock Artist Oorka
Best Folk Fusion Artist Jano Nyekha
Best Metal Artist Carnage Inc
Best Electronica Artist Mojo Jojo
Jury choice
Best Rock Artist The F16s
Best Pop Artist Shadow and Light
Best Folk Fusion Artist Neeraj Arya's Kabir Cafe
Best Metal Artist Demonstealer
Best Electronica Artist Donn Bhat
Best Hip Hop Artist Divine feat. Naezy
Best Young Indie Artist The F16s
Indie-Collaboration Midival Punditz + Papon + Malini Awasthi
Best Video The Ska Vengers
Best Album Art As We Keep Searching  
Indie-Genius: Person Of the Year winner.     Uddipan Sarmah  


Post a Comment