Rising Star Awards 2021 Entries Open - Enter Now

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks

The Wire wins 'RedInk Start-up of the Year' Award

The news and public affairs website is the sixth recipient of the award. Other winners of the Red Ink Awards have been ‘Scroll.in’ in 2015 and Fountain Ink of Chennai in 2014

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | April 25, 2016

the-wire‘The Wire’, a news and public affairs website, has been adjudged the ‘Start-up of the Year’ at the RedInk journalism awards instituted by the Press Club, Mumbai. The Red Ink Awards were instituted six years ago to promote best practices among journalists and encourage good quality writing, fair play and high ethical standards.

Elated by the recognition, M. K. Venu, Founding Editor of ‘The Wire’, said, “It is an honour to have won such a prestigious award. At ‘The Wire’, we believe that if good journalism is to survive and thrive, it can only do so by being both editorially and financially independent. This means relying principally on contributions from readers and concerned citizens who have no interest other than to sustain a space for quality journalism.”

‘The Wire’ was launched in May, 2015 and was co-founded by M. K. Venu, Siddharth Varadarajan and Sidharth Bhatia. M. K. Venu has been an active economic and political writer and has held leadership roles in reputed newspapers such as ‘The Economic Times’, ‘The Financial Express’ and ‘The Hindu’. He has written extensively on economic policy matters for over a quarter of a century since India opened up its economy in 1991. Siddharth Varadarajan was the Editor of ‘The Hindu’ and is a recipient of the Ramnath Goenka Award for Journalist of the Year. Sidharth Bhatia was among the editors who launched ‘DNA’ in 2005 and managed its editorial and opinion section.

The RedInk 'Best Media Start-up' award was won by Scroll.in, in 2015 and Fountain Ink of Chennai in 2014.


Post a Comment