Call for entries open for BuzzInContent Awards 2020 Enter Now

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks
Cannes Lions 2019

Guest Times

HT for Mumbai Awards felicitates changemakers of Mumbai

The winners in the Individual category were Kishore Bhatt, Pankaj Joshi and Sunjoy Monga, and in the Organisation category the winners were Majlis, LEARN and Akhsara

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Mumbai | November 29, 2013

Hindustan Times, one of India’s leading English dailies, concluded the inaugural edition of HT for Mumbai Awards 2013 with a ceremony on November 22, 2013. HT for Mumbai Awards is conceptualised as an extension of the brand’s commitment to be the catalyst for change in the city, by recognizing and rewarding people and organisations who share a similar passion for change by giving back to the city of Mumbai, and making it a better place to live in.

The inaugural edition of the awards was announced to readers of Hindustan Times in the last week of October 2013 which highlighted the role changemakers play by rising above the bleakness to usher in light in the lives of others, improving the city and its quality of life.

The launch edition showcased 12 nominees, six each in the category of Individuals and Organisations who were selected by a jury comprising Dr Aroon Tikekar (distinguished historian, intellectual and columnist), Chandra Iyengar (IAS officer), Rahul Bose (actor, director, sportsman), Smruti Koppikar (Editor, Special Assignments at HT) and Soumya Bhattacharya (Editor, HT Mumbai). The next few days went on to cover each of the nominations and their body of work extensively.

The award ceremony on November 22 at Four Seasons Hotel, Worli, was held amidst a diverse audience of citizen activists, policymakers, politicians and bureaucrats. Three winners were chosen from each category of Individuals and Organisations.

Prithviraj Chavan, Chief Minister of Maharashtra, who was the chief guest at the event, gave away the awards. He lauded the effort and passion of these individuals and organisations espousing unpopular but very necessary causes, giving a character to Mumbai that no other city can claim. He mentioned that the HT awards function had been a “rare occasion when undiscovered gems hidden from the public gaze were presented to the public”. He lauded Hindustan Times for the initiative in glorifying these unsung heroes of Mumbai.

The winners in the Individual Category were Kishore Bhatt, Pankaj Joshi and Sunjoy Monga, whereas the winners in the Organisation category were Majlis, LEARN and Akhsara.

The Popular Choice Award was selected by readers through a comprehensive voting mechanism which included SMS and through the digital microsite. Over 18,000 votes were received through these platforms reaching over 2.4 million people in the process. The award was given to Pankaj Joshi. The Lifetime Achievement award was awarded to noted historian Late Sharada Dwivedi.

The ceremony also included an enriching panel discussion on ‘Giving back to Mumbai’ which was addressed by the jury team.

Soumya Bhattacharya, Editor of Hindustan Times Mumbai, concluded the discussion with the promise of continuing to contribute to the city through the HT for Mumbai Awards. “This is our way, as a paper, of giving back to the city. We will come back next year and introduce more categories and recognise more kinds of good work,” he said.

Post a Comment