Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks

3rd WATAwards honours digital talent

Webchutney, Hungama Digital, Viacom 18 and Cleartrip feature among the best talent in the digital industry across categories

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | February 19, 2013

The recently held WATSummit 2013 with the theme ‘A New Era of Digital Marketing’ concluded with honouring the best talent in the digital industry with the WAT Awards. The categories for WAT Awards were across web, advertising, technology and entrepreneurship.

Over 250 entries were received and the key nominees were judged by a panel comprising Suresh Reddy, Chairman and CEO, Ybrant Digital; Neville Taraporewalla, Senior Director of Emerging Markets - Advertising and Online, Microsoft; Amit Tripathi, MD, id8labs; Anuj Kumar, Co-Founder & CEO, Affle; Sunil Kamath, VP - South Asia, Opera Software; Nishad Ramchandran, VP, Hansa Cequity; and Dinesh Swamy, Digital Creative Leader, BBDO Proximity.

In the Web category, Webchutney won ‘Website/Brand Microsite of the Year’ award for its campaign ‘Harmonium Love’. For Impact, Mahindra & Mahindra won the same award for the campaign ‘Spark the Rise’. The ‘Travel of the Year’ award was won by Ixigo.com; ‘Classified of the Year’ award by Gaadi.com; and the ‘Best E-commerce Site of the Year’ was won by Digi-cult for the campaign goosebumpspickles.com.

In ‘Viral Marketing Campaign of the Year’, Webchutney’s creative won for the campaign ‘All about Rajni’ and Impact was won by Omnicom for ‘Axe Shower Gel’ campaign. The Web category awarded Social Samosa as the Best Blog of the Year.

In the Advertising category, ‘Social Media Campaign of the Year’ (creative) was won by Ignitee Digital for ‘Wasseypur World’ and Impact was won by Social Wavelength for ‘Reliance Tweet-a-Tab’ campaign. In ‘Digital Media Campaign of the Year’, creative was won by Network 18 Media for ‘moneycontrol.com and Impact was won by Interactive Avenues for ‘Amex. So you got promoted’. The Mobile Media Campaign of the Year (creative) was won by Webchutney for ‘Turquoise Cottage’ and impact by Rocketalk for ‘Nokia Channel Me’. Digital Innovation in the creative category was won by Glitch Media for ‘Diesel Gun’ and in the impact category Hungama took the accolades for ‘Mahindra XUV 500’.

Cleartrip won in the Mobile App of the Year category, while Digital App of the Year was won by MTV Roadies 9 Head Collectors. The award for the Social App of the Year award was won by BBDO Proximity for ‘Visa D2A’ and the Innovative Product of the Year was won by Digi-Cult for goosebumpickles.com.

The award for ‘Digital Media Entrepreneur of the Year’ was won by Vikas Tandon, Managing Director, Indigo Consulting. Ankita Gaba, Co-Founder of Social Samosa, took the award for the ‘Social Media Entrepreneur of the Year’. ‘Mobile Media Entrepreneur of the Year’ was won by Dippak Khurana, CEO of Vserv Digital Services. Shripal Gandhi of Swipe Telecom won the award of ‘Young Entrepreneur of the Year’.

A special set of awards were presented to Hungama Digital Services in the Digital Media Agency of the Year category, Social Wavelength in the Social Media Agency of the Year and Rocketalk India in the Mobile Marketing Company of the Year.

Josy Paul, Chairman of BBDO Proximity, was present at the function and gave away some of the awards. Commenting on the success of WATAwards, Paul said, “The work presented today has inspired me personally and I would like to congratulate the winners for their creative thought and execution”.

Rajiv Dingra, Founder & CEO, WATMedia, commented, “We at WATSummit are extremely proud to honour the best talent in the digital industry. Our jury members were extremely pleased with the work submitted by the agencies.”


Post a Comment