Shortlists announced for Rising Star Awards 2021 [VIEW]

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks

'NDTV Car & Bike Awards 2013' winners announced

Renault Duster wins the Car of the Year Award & Bajaj Pulsar 200 NS gets Two Wheeler of the Year Award

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | December 17, 2012 

The much awaited 8th Edition of the NDTV Car and Bike Awards 2013 ceremony was held for the second consecutive year at the Buddh International Circuit F1 track on December 14. It was time once again for the stalwarts of the Indian automobile industry to take centre stage. The NDTV Car and Bike Awards 2013, presented by Mobil1 and powered by Tata AIG, have set the benchmark as an exceptional evening in the annual calendar of events for the automobile industry.

In the grand ceremony, introduced by F1 Racing Champion Jenson Button, Renault Duster took the Car of the Year Award 2013, while Bajaj Pulsar 200 NS was awarded the Two Wheeler of the Year 2013. The 'NDTV Car & Bike India Automotive Man of the Year' was given to RC Bhargava for his outstanding contribution to the Indian automobile industry.

CNB Viewers’ Choice Awards for both Cars and Bikes provide NDTV viewers the exciting opportunity to vote for their favourite car and two wheeler nominees and stand a chance to take the year’s hottest wheels home. Hyundai Elantra and Honda Dream Yuga were announced as the Viewers' Choice car and two wheeler respectively.

Ranbir Kapoor was awarded the Brand Ambassador of the Year while Mahindra Racing was awarded the Mobil1 Motorsport of the Year.

The evening was a celebration of the best design, unmatched technology, style and performances in the automobile industry and honoured the best vehicles that dominated the market in 2012.

Speaking on the occasion,¬†Siddharth Vinayak Patankar, Editor-Auto, NDTV Group said, ‚ÄúAt CNB we are concerned that our awards should represent the year‚Äôs leaders in various areas of our automobile industry truthfully and accurately. We believe the 8th edition of NDTV Car and Bike Awards reflected that concern. All winners of the coveted awards are the most deserving brands and individuals. On a personal level, I am particularly proud of the Viewers' Choice categories because they represent the voice of our primary constituency - the viewer.‚Ä̬†

Adding further cheer to the occasion¬†Salman Khan, joining from Mumbai, spoke about his association with Suzuki Hayate and said, ‚ÄĚPeople have said that it‚Äôs a really nice bike. Few of my friends have recently bought it as well. It is very fuel efficient and is a bike which can take a lot of BT (Bike Technology). I think it has a superb tagline and I was very impressed with it. I was given the script for the promotion and I found it very nice and funny and am glad that today people are liking it. It is nice to be a part of brands you like to endorse. If I cannot eat or use a product I would not endorse it.‚ÄĚ He further added, ‚ÄúI have tied up with Suzuki for Dabangg 2 and the cops in the film are all on Hayates.‚Ä̬†

The NDTV Car & Bike Awards¬†felicitate the best among the best, showcased in NDTV‚Äôs highly acclaimed CNB or ‚ÄėThe Car and Bike Show‚Äô. These Awards are the automobile industry‚Äôs most credible awards, presented every year by¬†NDTV.

The Awards have been associated with unrivalled credibility due to their rigorous selection procedure and distinguished Jury, which ensured that the most deserving cars and bikes were declared winners in their respective categories. This year the Jury was led by Dr V Sumantran, Hinduja Group, auto designer Dilip Chhabria of DC Designs, actress and biker Gul Panag, auto columnist & enthusiast, Kamesh Patel, racer Aditya Patel, Gautam Sen of Auto India and Adil Jal Darukhanawala of Zigwheels, with Siddharth Vinayak Patankar, Editor-Auto, NDTV Network.

Associate Sponsors for the NDTV Car & Bike Awards 2013 are the Jaypee Group, MapmyIndia and Mann Tours.

List of Winners


Two Wheelers


Category Winner
Two Wheeler Manufacturer of the Year Royal Enfield
Two Wheeler of the Year Bajaj Pulsar 200 NS
Scooter of the Year Yamaha Ray
Motorcycle of the Year above 500 CC Ducati Monster 795
Motorcycle of the Year above 250 CC Royal Enfield Thunderbird
Motorcycle of the Year upto 250 CC Bajaj Pulsar 200 NS
Motorcycle of the Year upto 125 CC TVS Phoenix
Motorcycle of the Year upto 110 CC Honda Dream Yuga




Category Winner
Sports Car of the Year Porsche Boxster
Premium SUV of the Year Range Rover
Import Car of the Year BMW 6 Series  Gran Coupe
MUV of the Year Maruti Suzuki Ertiga
Premium Sedan of the Year BMW 3 Series
Performance Car of the Year BMW M5
Full Size Sedan of the Year Hyundai Sonata
SUV of the Year Audi Q3
Car Manufacturer of the Year Renault India
Crossover/Compact SUV of the Year Renault Duster
Entry Premium Car of the Year Mercedes Benz B Class
Entry Hatchback Car of the Year Maruti Suzuki Alto 800
Premium Hatchback of the Year Renault Pulse
Sub Compact Sedan of the Year Maruti Suzuki Swift DZire
Mid Size Sedan of the Year Hyundai Elantra
Car of the Year Renault Duster

General Awards

Category Winner
Design of the Year Hyundai Elantra and Bajaj Pulsar 200 NS
Automotive Technology of the Year Auto Terrain-Response from Land Rover
Automotive Man of the Year RC Bhargava 
Mobile1 Motorsport Award Mahindra Racing

CNB-AAA Awards


Category Winner
Best TV Commercial 4 Wheeler Nissan Evalia (Music) & Renault Scala
Best TV Commercial 2 Wheeler Hero Bikes (Vroom Vroom) & Honda Dream Yuga
Best Integrated Campaign Suzuki Hayate
Best PR & Communication campaign Ford for Eco Sport Launch
Brand Ambassador of the Year Ranbir Kapoor



Post a Comment