Rising Star Awards Entries Open- ENTER NOW

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks
bestmediainfo logo

IBN7 gives away Diamond States Awards 2012

Maharashtra & Sikkim declared the Best Big & Best Small States at the fourth edition of the awards

IBN7 gives away Diamond States Awards 2012

Maharashtra & Sikkim declared the Best Big & Best Small States at the fourth edition of the awards

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | December 24, 2012

Winners of IBN7 Diamond States Award with Speaker of Lok Sabha, Miera Kumar

IBN7 announced the winners of the fourth edition of the prestigious Diamond States Awards - a unique, path-breaking editorial initiative, in association with the Alchemist Group, which lauds the major strides taken by Indian states in the areas of social and human development. Maharashtra and Sikkim bagged the top honours as India’s ‘Best Big State’ and India’s ‘Best Small State’, respectively.

Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar was the Chief Guest at the glittering awards ceremony held in New Delhi on December 22, 2012, which was attended by Cabinet Ministers, Chief Ministers, prominent politicians, bureaucrats and other eminent personalities.

Winners of the IBN7 Diamond States Awards 2012

Category Best Big State Best Small State
Citizen Security Gujarat Sikkim
Core Infrastructure Punjab Delhi
Education Kerala Himachal Pradesh
Employment Maharashtra Uttarakhand
Environment Kerala Sikkim
Healthcare Kerala Goa
Poverty Reduction Kerala Jammu & Kashmir
Water and Sanitation Maharashtra Sikkim
Women Empowerment Tamil Nadu Uttarakhand

India’s Best States for their Overall Performance

Top Three Big States Top Three Small States
Maharashtra Sikkim
Tamil Nadu Goa
Gujarat Uttarakhand

India’s Top Three Emerging States

Top Three Big States Top Three Small States
Bihar Manipur
Odisha Himachal Pradesh
Madhya Pradesh Meghalaya

The IBN7 Diamond States Awards follows a credible and multi-pronged selection process that involves secondary data from authentic sources and primary data from a nationwide research exercise conducted by IPSOS, the Research Partner for this initiative. KPMG, the independent Knowledge Partner, manages the process, methodology and the data for arriving at the best states across various categories of the awards.

The award winners are selected basis the parameters set by the IBN Editorial Board, Outlook Editorial Board and the Jury consisting of eminent citizens from various walks of life. The Jury this year included Dr. Bimal Jalan, former RBI Governor & Chairperson of the Jury; Dr. Shaibal Gupta, Secretary of Asian Development Research Institute; TSR Subramanian, former Cabinet Secretary; M Damodaran, former Chairman of SEBI; Dr. Bakul H Dholakia, former Director of IIM-Ahmedabad and Gurcharan Das, author and public intellectual.

Speaking on the occasion, Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN, IBN7 & IBN-Lokmat, said, “IBN7 Diamond States Awards is an initiative which tries to highlight the remarkable contribution put in by the states to attain the set goals, which eventually leads to a better India.”

Ashutosh, Managing Editor, IBN7, said, “We are privileged to host the 4th edition of IBN7 Diamond States Awards. This award is an initiative to recognise the outstanding leap made by the states towards our nation’s growth.”



Post a Comment