Rising Star Awards Entries Open- ENTER NOW

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks
bestmediainfo logo

CNBC-TV18 gives away 'India Business Leader Awards'

The eighth edition of awards celebrated the spirit of excellence in business leadership in India

CNBC-TV18 gives away ‘India Business Leader Awards’

The eighth edition of awards celebrated the spirit of excellence in business leadership in India BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | November 5, 2012
(L-R) Udayan Mukherjee, Anil Uniyal, Pratip Chaudhari, Senthil, N Chandrasekharan, Kumar Mangalam Birla
CNBC-TV18 hosted the 8th edition of ‘India Business Leader Awards’ (IBLA) - Asia’s most renowned awards for Excellence in Leadership, presented by Omkar Realtors and Developers Pvt Ltd. The scintillating ceremony witnessed some of the most distinguished names from India Inc. take centre stage at the National Centre for the Performing Arts (NCPA), Mumbai.   An extension of CNBC’s Asia Business Leader Awards, ‘India Business Leader Awards 2012’ is the definitive awards celebrating the spirit of excellence in business leadership in India. These awards have been established to honor stellar individuals and organizations that have epitomized corporate excellence and have taken Indian Business to a new echelon of fame. ‘India Business Leader Awards 2012’, CNBC-TV18's flagship awards for leadership in business and the economy, recognized the leaders who ingenuously piloted their organizations in these times of economic turmoil.   Keeping in mind the scams and corruption allegations against several Indian corporations in the past year, IBLA 2012 emphasized on ‘integrity’ as one of the key criterions for short listing the frontrunners. The CNBC-TV18 editorial panel and research teams conducted a 3-phase methodology, to recognize the companies with excellent business leaders at their helm. Under stringent, objective and transparent criteria, business leaders were judged by a jury comprising of world-respected management strategists, academics and corporate personalities. The IBLA 2012 jury consisted of renowned names such as YC Deveshwar, Sunil Mittal, Harish Salve, Pratip Chaudhari, N Chandrasekaran, Nandan Nilekani and Raghav Bahl.   The jury, along with research partners - The University of Chicago Graduate School of Business (GSB), Development Dimensions International (DDI) and The CNBC-TV18 Research Team assessed candidates through a unique judging process based on a combination of criteria, including financial performance, leadership, creativity, innovation and social responsibility. Candidates were also evaluated on their ability to create short-term advantage, long-term value, a competitive edge, and the demonstration of leadership in the business community.  CNBC-TV18 also conducted a national poll for the awards, with a special group of business leaders, a peer group and the general public.   The awards witnessed luminaries from the business fraternity like  Yogesh Chander Deveshwar, Chairman, ITC Limited,  N Chandrasekaran, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director, TCS,  Sunil Bharti Mittal, Founder, Chairman and Group CEO of Bharti Enterprises,  Harish Salve, Solicitor General of India (1999-2002),  Pratip Chaudhuri, Chairman, State Bank of India,  Kumar Mangalam Birla, Chairman, Aditya Birla Group,  Sudhir Valia, Director at Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd, Roopa Kudva, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of CRISIL and Region Head, South Asia, Standard & Poor's, and  Dilip Shanghvi, Founder and Managing Director, Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Limited. Speaking about the awards,  Udayan Mukherjee, Managing Editor, CNBC-TV18 said, “Currently in its 8th year, CNBC TV18’s IBLA is now one of the most coveted awards for the business leaders of India. It was initiated to honor India’s most exceptional corporate houses and individuals for their contribution to India Inc in times of global economic turmoil. We at CNBC TV18 hope to continue this initiative and reward the stalwarts of the industry who have uncompromisingly led their organizations in times of turmoil.”   Speaking on the occasion Babulal Varma, Managing Director, Omkar Realtors and Developers Pvt Ltd said, “We salute the genius and valour of the Indian business fraternity and are proud to be associated with CNBC TV18’s Indian Business Leader Awards, which commend and appreciate such pioneers.”   The winners in the respective categories for this year’s awards are:  




Award Category



1 CNBC Asia’s India Talent Management Award 2012 Kuldip Kaura, CEO & Managing Director, ACC Ltd.
2 CNBC Asia’s India Innovator of the Year 2012 M. S. Unnikrishnan, Thermax Ltd
3 CNBC Asia’s India Corporate Social Responsibility Award 2012 R. Mukundan, MD Tata Chemicals Ltd.
4 Storyboard Brand of the year Award Bharat Bambawale, Director, Global Brand, Bharti Airtel
5 Outstanding contribution to Brand India M.C. Mary Kom
6 State of the year Award Bihar
7 Outstanding Contribution to the Cause of the Indian Economy E. Sreedharan
8 Young Turk of the Year Award Attero Recycling
9 Most Promising Company of the Year Award Jubilant Food works Ltd.
10 Outstanding Company of the year award Sun Pharmaceuticals Ltd.
11 Outstanding woman business leader of the year award Roopa Kudva – Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, CRISIL
12 Outstanding Business leader of the year and CNBC Asia's India Business Leader of the year award N. Chandrasekaran - TCS
13 Lifetime achievement Award Dr. Anji Reddy
14 Hall of Fame Dr. R. H. Patil
Dr. V. Kurien
Yash Chopra


Post a Comment