Aaj Tak honours corporate India with Care Awards

Amway, Suzlon, Microsoft, Eli Lilly, JK Lakshmi Cement, Standard Chartered and BPCL among winners

BestMediaInfo Bureau
New Update

Aaj Tak honours corporate India with Care Awards

Amway, Suzlon, Microsoft, Eli Lilly, JK Lakshmi Cement, Standard Chartered and BPCL among winners

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | June 7, 2012


Hindi news channel Aaj Tak,  part of the TV Today Network, on Wednesday announced and honoured the winners of the Aaj Tak Care Awards instituted to honour corporate entities who have contributed towards inclusive and sustainable development keeping in mind the society as the focal point.

Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, who was the Chief Guest, felicitated the 12 winning companies. Bollywood actor Akshay Kumar, who launched the Aaj Tak Care Awards anthem, was also present at the awards ceremony.

Aaj Tak Care Awards was given in five categories: Education, Empowerment, Environment, Health and Livelihood.

Commenting on the awards, Joy Chakraborthy, CEO, TV Today Network, said, “The Aaj Tak Care Awards is an endeavour by the TV Today Network to recognise and honour the real champions of corporate India who have positively impacted society. We looked at companies which have gone beyond their corporate objectives of growth and profitability, and laid an emphasis on the improvement of the society as their larger objective. These awards reinforce our commitment to society and the winners have contributed to the welfare of the society as responsible corporate citizens.”

List of winners:

Aaj Tak Care Award for Education: Amway India, PVR

Aaj Tak Care Award for Environment: Suzlon Energy, ONGC, Dabur India

Aaj Tak Care Award for Health: Eli Lilly & Company, JK Lakshmi Cement, Standard Chartered

Aaj Tak Care Award for Empowerment: Gitanjali Gems, Microsoft

Aaj Tak Care Award for Livelihood: Bharat Petroleum, First Source Solutions

Research agency IMRB International filtered the entries for participation in the Aaj Tak Care Awards based on parameters like replicability, sustainability, people participation and innovativeness.

Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce (FICCI) with their experience and expertise in various sectors partnered in the second phase to further shortlist the companies. It compared and evaluated the CSR initiatives of all entries and nominated the final 40 companies for the second phase of the selection process.

The third stage was the selection process by the jury comprising eminent personalities.

The jury was chaired by Gurcharan Das, author and management consultant. Prof Dipankar Gupta, noted sociologist, was the Expert Jury Member, while Arun Kapur,  Executive Director of Learn Today, took responsibility for selecting companies under the Education category. Leading social activist Sandeep Pandey selected companies under the Empowerment category. Rajender Singh, environmentalist, Tarun Bharat Sangh, environmentalist & Chairman, Tarun Bhagat Sangh, gave their views in the Environment category. Dr Ashok Seth, Chairman of Fortis Group of Hospitals (Cardiovascular Sciences & Cardiology Council), gave his opinion under the Health category. Sandeep Chachra, Executive Director, Action Aid India, shortlisted companies under Livelihood category.