Call for entries open for BuzzInContent Awards 2020 Enter Now

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks
BuzzInContent Awards

CNBC-TV18 gives away ‘India Healthcare Awards’

Joins hands with ICICI Lombard General Insurance to honour the best in healthcare industry at the second edition of awards

December 27, 2011:

ICICI Lombard General Insurance, India’s largest private sector general insurer and CNBC-TV18, India’s biggest business medium honoured the best in the healthcare industry at the ‘India Healthcare Awards 2011’. The awards ceremony was held at the Taj Palace, New Delhi and was presided over by Sudip Bandyopadhyay, Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare.

ICICI Lombard General Insurance and CNBC TV18 India joined hands with IMRB, India’s leading research agency, to drive the robust tri-phase methodology. The categories covered were General Service, Tertiary Care Hospitals (multi and single specialty hospitals), Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana Award to hospitals for outstanding service to the community and WHO Awards for excellence in Primary Healthcare. The process was an extensive one and spanned broadly across three phases:- Nominations; Shortlisting – which included the scope of service, infrastructure, patient safety record and innovation & research; Final ranking  of the shortlisted hospitals which was done by doctors, specialists and consumers / patients in 17 cities across the major Indian states.

The jury members of India Healthcare Awards were Vaidheesh A, Managing Director, Johnson & Johnson Medical India; Dr. Ramakanta Panda, Vice Chairman, Asian Heart Institute; Kewal Handa, Managing Director, Pfizer Limited, India; D. G. Shah, Secretary General, Indian Pharmaceutical Alliance and Co-Chairman, National Pharmaceuticals Committee, FICCI;  Mandar Vaidya, Partner, Mckinsey & Company and Dr. S. K. Sarin, Director Indian Medical Council.

Commenting on the occasion Bhargav Dasgupta, MD & CEO, ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Ltd. said, “As a leading private health insurance company, we have a responsibility towards developing a healthcare ecosystem which rewards quality and keeps patient care at its core. Through these awards, we were able to identify truly exceptional work in the Indian healthcare industry.  By bringing in the consumer experience into the ranking methodology, we have brought a significant innovation into the process. I am confident that the ‘India Healthcare Awards’ will provide an added stimulus to the top healthcare providers for delivering a best-in-class patient experience.”

Speaking about the awards, Senthil Chengalvarayan, President & Editorial Director,TV18 Business Media said, “Rising income levels, changing demographics, work stress levels and the shift from chronic to lifestyle diseases in the country have led to increased spending in the healthcare sector thus giving rise to the growth of the Healthcare Industry in India. Thus, with an aim to recognise the best healthcare services and facilities available in the Country, ‘India Healthcare Awards’ was born as the brainchild of CNBC-TV18 and ICICI Lombard General Insurance. In its second year itself, ‘India Healthcare Awards’ is well on its way to establishing what it set out to do in the first edition. With participation from around 4000 hospitals, ‘India Healthcare Awards’ has undoubtedly become the most comprehensive and authoritative awards of the Industry.”

The winners of The India Healthcare Awards 2011 are given below:

Best Multi Specialty Hospital of the Year Metro P.D.Hinduja Hospital,  Mumbai
Non Metro Christian Medical College, Vellore
Best Hospital in General Services Metro-South Sridevi Hospital, Chennai
Non Metro - West Shrey Hospital And Research Centre, Ahmedabad
Non Metro- North Saket Medicare & Research Centre  Pvt. Ltd., Jaipur
Non Metro- South Agadi Hospital, Bangalore
Award for specialty hospital Cardiology Christian Medical College ,Vellore
Asian Heart Hospital, Mumbai
Gastroenterology AIIMS, Delhi
Nephrology & Urology Institute of Kidney diseases and Research Centre, Ahmedabad
Oncology Tata Memorial Hospital, Mumbai
Ophthalmology Sankara Nethralaya, Chennai
Orthopedics Fortis Hospital- Bone & Joint Care Mulund , Mumbai
Pediatrics AIIMS, Delhi
Neurology AIIMS, Delhi
Obstetrics & Gynaecology Apollo Hospital, Delhi
Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojna Award for outstanding service to the Community District Hospital, Uttarkashi – Uttarakhand
Civil Hospital, Ahwa , Gujarat
Simrita Nursing and Maternity Home, Patiala , Punjab
WHO Awards for excellence in Primary Healthcare Community Empowerment for Primary Health Care Self Employed Women’s Association (SEWA), Ahmedabad, Gujarat
Efficiency in supportive functions for delivering Primary Health Care Services effectively Tamil Nadu Medical Services Corporation, Chennai, Tamil Nadu
Addressing Key Social Determinants of Primary Health Care Child In Need Institute (CINI), Kolkata, West Bengal
Promoting Capacity of Primary Health Care Personnel Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Wardha, Maharashtra
Field Research in Primary Health Care Governance Foundation for Research in Community Health (FRCH), Pune, Maharashtra
India’s Most Innovative Hospital Aravind Eye Hospital , Madurai

The awards witnessed the presence of the Indian Healthcare community, leaders and representatives from the Indian private and government organisations, policy makers and important luminaries from sectors affiliated to the industry.

Post a Comment