News as it is -

Best Media Info

Partner Content

Agnello Dias gets 'Communicator of the Decade' award

Piyush Pandey was the recipient last year of the award given by the Association of Business Communicators of India

Agnello Dias gets ‘Communicator of the Decade’ award

Piyush Pandey was the recipient last year of the award given by the Association of Business Communicators of India

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | December 8, 2011

The Association of Business Communicators of India (ABCI), at its 51st Annual Awards, felicitated Agnello Dias, Managing Director, TapRoot India, with the ‘Communicator of the Decade’ award. Last year this award was conferred on Piyush Pandey, Executive Chairman & Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather India & South Asia.

Prof MS Swaminathan, Rajya Sabha MP and father of the Green Revolution in India, graced the occasion as Chief Guest.

Aggie, as Agnello Dias is popularly known as, is one of India’s best-known advertising creative personalities. The former JWT National Creative Director, who went on to set up his own creative hot shop TapRoot, along with partner Santosh ‘Paddy’ Padhi, is credited with winning India’s only Cannes Grand Prix for The Times of India campaign two years ago.

This year ABCI received 952 nominations from 32 categories. More than 100 companies participated in the 51st Annual Awards Nite. However, only 48 companies emerged as winners in various categories. Those who got maximum awards were awarded the ‘Champion of Champions’ trophy, the award that ABCI instituted from the 50th edition last year.

The other awardees at the ceremony are:

  • Shweta Rajpal Kohli, Editor, Economic Affairs, NDTV Profit: Communicator of the Year Award. Last year, the award was given to Prof D Udaya Kumar of IIT Guwahati. He is the designer of the Rupee symbol.
  • Kiron Kasbekar, MD, The Information Company, which is into digital communication, for Excellence in Business Journalism. He is a former Editor of The Economic Times and Business India.  Last year’s awardee was Padmashree Kumar Ketkar, Editor-in-Charge, Loksatta.
  • Jayant Pendharkar, Former VP & Global Head, Marketing & Communications. TCS, for Excellence in Marketing Communications. Last year’s winner was MV Nair, CMD, Union Bank.
  • K Venkataramanan, President, L&T, for Global Business Communicator. Last year’s awardee was Dr Dinesh Keskar, President & COO –India, Boeing.
  • Hudson Samarasinghe, Chairman, Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation (formerly Radio Ceylon famous for Binaca Geet Mala), for Strategic Business Communication. Last year’s winner was PM ‘Suman’ Sinha, Chiarman, Bata India.
  • Ashok Advani, MD & Editor-in-Charge, Business India. Life Time Achievement Award. Last year’s awardee – Gerson da Cunha.
  • Sylvester da’Cunha, Chairman, Da’Cunha Associates, was given the Lifetime Achievement Award. He is the maker of Amul as a brand. Last year’s awardee – Sam Pitroda.
  • Alyque Padamsee, Chairman, PA Advertising, also got the Lifetime Achievement Award. Last year’s awardee was Vasant Sathe, former I&B Minister.

The Champion of Champions Trophy winners were L&T, Mahindra & Mahindra, Union Bank and Tata Chemicals.

Magazine of the Year award was given to Reserve Bank of India for its in-house magazine ‘Without Reserve’.

Post a Comment