CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2011 unveils Business & Sports categories

Voting lines open for the public to choose their own icons from the nominees

BestMediaInfo Bureau
New Update

CNN-IBN Indian of the Year 2011 unveils Business and Sports categories

Voting lines open for the public to choose their own icons from  the nominees in these two categories

November 30, 2011:

publive-imageCNN-IBN is all set to host the prestigious CNN-IBN Indian of the Year Award 2011. The channel has opened the voting lines for Business and Sports categories.

The nominees under Business category are as follows:

  • DILIP S. SHANGHVI: For converting distressed assets into value in a way which turned Sun into the most valuable pharmaceuticals company in India.

To Vote: SMS IBUS 1 to 51818

  • FRANCISCO D'SOUZA: For turning Cognizant into one of India's fastest growing IT firms and establishing a differentiated business model.

To Vote: SMS IBUS 2 to 51818

  • N CHANDRASEKARAN: For making TCS the new bellwether company in the IT sector and doubling the firm's market value in two years.

To Vote: SMS IBUS 3 to 51818

  • RAHUL BHATIA: For establishing and operating Indigo, India's only profitable low cost airline, in a turbulent industry environment.

To Vote: SMS IBUS 4 to 51818

  • RAJIV BAJAJ: For establishing Bajaj Auto as a serious challenger in the two-wheeler industry and leading a strong foray in emerging international markets.

To Vote: SMS IBUS 5 to 51818

  • RANA KAPOOR: For creating Yes Bank, one of India's fastest growing, consistently acclaimed and high performance medium sized banks.

To Vote: SMS IBUS 6 to 51818

The nominees under Sports category are as follows:

  • DEEPIKA KUMARI: For being the daughter of an auto-rickshaw driver who scripted a heady tale of success by winning the silver medal in the World Archery Championships.

To Vote: SMS ISPO 1 to 51818

  • JWALA GUTTA AND ASHWINI PONAPPA: For becoming the first ever women's doubles pair to win a medal for India at the World Badminton Championships.

To Vote: SMS ISPO 2 to 51818

  • MAHENDRA SINGH DHONI: For arguably being India's best cricket captain ever and achieving stupendous success in winning the World Cup after a 28 year gap.

To Vote: SMS ISPO 3 to 51818

  • RAHUL DRAVID: For being Indian cricket's most unsung superhero, who even in his 38th year is delivering superlative performances.

To Vote: SMS ISPO 4 to 51818

  • RONJAN SODHI: For creating history by becoming the first Indian ever to defend a World Cup title in double trap shooting.

To Vote: SMS ISPO 5 to 51818

  • VIKAS KRISHNAN: For becoming only the second Indian to win a bronze medal at the World Boxing Championships.

To Vote: SMS ISPO 6 to 51818

Speaking on the occasion, Rajdeep Sardesai, Editor-in-Chief, CNN-IBN, IBN7 & IBN- Lokmat said, “It is with great pride that we announce the nominees of this year's edition of the Indian of the Year Awards. Each passing year, gives us an opportunity to identify those rare individuals who have forged a blazing path in their chosen fields.”