Rising Star Awards 2021 Entries Open - Enter Now

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks

Sam Balsara elected Chairman of ABC for 2011-12

In the backdrop of the recent decision to merge NRS and IRS readership surveys, he will have a role to play in the smooth transition to a unified readership platform

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | September 27, 2011

Sam Balsara, Chairman & Managing Director of Madison World, has been unanimously elected as Chairman of Audit Bureau of Circulations (ABC) for 2011-2012. T Venkattram Reddy of Deccan Chronicle Holdings was unanimously elected as Deputy Chairman.

Balsara has been a member of ABC’s Council of Management since 2002 and was Deputy Chairman of ABC last year.

On his priorities, Balsara says, “I will focus on one, improving credibility of the ABC Certificate, and two, convincing media planners on the importance of using circulation data along with the readership data to decide on inclusion of a title in their plans, and the right price to pay for it.”

Other members on the management council include Shashi Sinha of Lodestar UM as Honorary Secretary, Madhukar Kamath of Mudra as Honorary Treasurer, and Vikram Sakhuja of GroupM.

The publishers’ representatives, besides T Venkattram Reddy, include Shailesh Gupta, Jagran Prakashan; M Venkatesh, Hindustan Media Ventures; Amit Mathew, Malayala Manorama; Aritra Sarkar, ABP; I Venkat, Ushodaya Enterprises; Hormusji N Cama, The Bombay Samachar; and Devendra V Darda, Lokmat.

The advertisers’ representatives are SM Ahmad, ITC; Ravi Pisharody, Tata Motors; Debabrata Mukherjee, Coca-Cola India; and Anil Dua, Hero MotoCorp.

What is significant this time is that the MRUC and ABC have recently agreed to merge the two readership surveys into a single entity. MRUC brings out the IRS while ABC has been the custodian of NRS. Hormusji Cama of The Bombay Samachar, who is a publishers’ representative on ABC, was recently elected Chairman of MRUC.


Post a Comment