ï»ż
Call for entries open for BuzzInContent Awards 2020 Enter Now

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks
Special
Interviews
Events
Cannes Lions 2019

Guest Times

Google announces live streaming of The Royal Wedding on YouTube

For the first time in thousands of years of royal history, the moment will be captured online and preserved forever.

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | April 20, 2011

As the historic day approaches, the much-anticipated wedding of Britain's Prince William and Miss Catherine Middleton has people around the world buzzing with excitement.

While millions will be in London for the big day, it's clear that people around the world have wedding fever. Google search trends show that in addition to the UK and the US, the top ten countries searching for “royal wedding” include places like Singapore and the Philippines. In response, Google has been working to make as much of the big day as possible accessible to everyone. Google previously announced the expansion of Google Earth 3D imagery to offer a “Royals’-eye” view of the entire wedding procession, complete with 3D images of iconic landmarks and five species of digital trees that can be seen along the route.

Now the Royal Household has just announced that footage of the entire ceremony will be live streamed on their official YouTube channel.

The live stream will begin at 10:00a BST (9:00a GMT, 2:00a PT, 5:00a ET) on Friday, April 29, and will follow the wedding procession, marriage ceremony at Westminster Abbey and balcony kiss. Alongside the live stream, The Royal Channel will also feature live blog commentary of the event to give timely updates and insights as the day unfolds. For those in different time zones, the footage will be re-shown in its entirety directly following the event and will be available in full on the site to view afterward.

So, one does not need to wait until the big day to attend the wedding, though. A video guest book has just been opened on The Royal Channel for anyone in the YouTube community to upload messages of congratulations, inspiration or well wishes to the happy couple.

More than 50 years ago, the marriage of The Queen’s sister, Princess Margaret, and Antony Armstrong-Jones was the first royal wedding to be broadcast on television and had over 20 million viewers. This one is already heralded as the first of the Internet age, where for the first time in thousands of years of royal history, the moment will be captured online and preserved forever.

Info@BestMediaInfo.com

Advertisment
Post a Comment