News as it is -

Best Media Info

Partner Content

ESPNCricinfo Announces Nominations For Its Annual Awards

Cricket’s leading authority recognises the best performances from 2010

ESPNCricinfo Announces Nominations For Its Annual Awards

Cricket’s leading authority recognises the best performances from 2010

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | February 1, 2011

ESPNCricinfo, the world’s leading cricket website, is once again holding the ESPNCricinfo Awards, celebrating the best individual performances in 2010 by batsmen and bowlers in Tests, one-day internationals and Twenty20 cricket.

India’s Test, one-day and Twenty20 players feature strongly in the awards with Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, VVS Laxman, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh and Ashish Nehra all nominated. Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar took the Test and ODI batting honours last year for ESPNcricinfo Awards 2009 held at Jaipur, India.

This year’s awards, taking place in Bangalore, India, on February 14, will feature six categories and will be chosen by ESPNCricinfo’s expert panel. The jury includes Geoffrey Boycott (former England opener), Ian Chappell (former Australia captain), Martin Crowe (former New Zealand captain Ramiz Raja (former Pakistan captain), Ian Bishop (former West Indies fast bowler) and Sambit Bal (Editor, ESPNcricinfo).

The categories for the ESPNCricinfo Jury Awards include Best Test Batting Performance, Best Test Bowling Performance, Best ODI Batting Performance, Best ODI Bowling Performance, Best Twenty20 Batting Performance, Best Twenty20 Bowling Performance.

The ESPNCricinfo Awards were established in 2007 with previous winners including Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar and Chris Gayle.

In addition to the Jury Awards, ESPNCricinfo will announce The Statsguru Awards. ESPNcricinfo records data on 16 parameters for each ball bowled in every match in international cricket. These statistics help in ascertaining the most consistent batsman of the year, the greatest percentage of runs in boundaries and the bowler who has bowled the most “dot-balls”.

The awards will take place just days before the start of the ICC Cricket World Cup on February 19. As the excitement builds towards the tournament, ESPN is delivering multi-platform coverage that celebrates the past and present of cricket’s premier one-day tournament, with ESPNcricinfo delivering coverage online and on mobile devices. A specially dedicated section of the site will include ball-by-ball updates, scores and text commentary as well as recaps and player profiles from every match.

Among the Indian nominations VVS Laxman has three nominations for the best Test batsman this year with a top score of 103 not out against Sri Lanka. India’s Sachin Tendulkar is in the running for the best one-day batsman performance award for notching up 200 not out Vs South Africa during the second ODI in Gwalior. Suresh Raina is nominated under the best Twenty20 batsman for his brilliant 101 against South Africa during the Twenty20 World cup at St Lucia driving home a one-sided win for India.

Post a Comment