Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks
Cannes Lions 2019

Guest Times

Better Photography Gives Away Photographer Of the Year 2010 Awards

Sponsored by Nikon, the awards were given out under eight categories.

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | January 19, 2011

The Photographer Of the Year Awards 2010 - India’s largest photography competition organized by Better Photography India’s No.1 photography magazine in sponsorship with title partner Nikon celebrated the awards giving ceremony at Pragati Maidan on 6th January 2011. The award night saw large presence from both sides of the photography fraternity, the photographers as well as the manufacturers. Among some of the celebrated names were renowned photographer and World Press Photo Judge Pablo Bartolommeo, renowned photographer and final judge Swapan Parekh, independent photographers P Saikrishnan and Dileep Prakash, famous wedding photographer Prakash Tilokani, Neeraj Paul - Photo Editor The Times of India, T Narayan - Photo Editor Hindustan Times, Sachin Devrai - Product Manager Digital Camera Business Sony India, Kinya Yoshimura - General Manager of India Liaison Office Olympus India, Hiroshi Takashina - MD Nikon India.

The awards were given out under eight categories – Man and His Environment, Architecture and Monuments, Shadows and Lights, Faces, Waterscapes, Patterns Of Nature, Wildlife and Photo Essay-A Place Called Home. Arpan Mukherjee, winner of the category Photo Essay-A Place Called Home, won the prestigious Photographer Of the Year 2010 Award.

The awards were a culmination of sixteen weeks of contest which was divided into national and international leg. Under the national leg, the awards which were in its 6th edition received a whopping 58,528 entries, including online and print entries. Entries were received from across the remotest corners of India as well as from NRIs.

The winner from each of the eight categories was selected by an esteemed panel of judges and all the eight finalists were flown to Singapore for the Final Face-off. Singapore Tourism Board was the destination partner for the four days of Final Face-off in Singapore. Swapan Parekh, one of the most renowned photographers, judged the final entries to decide the winner of the title Photographer Of the Year 2010.

Commenting on their association with the Awards, Hiroshi Takashina, Managing Director, Nikon India Private Limited said “Nikon has enjoyed supporting the magazine from its inception and the journey so far has been very beneficial and fulfilling. We hope this association between Nikon and Better Photography magazine will continue to be very fruitful thus contributing to the photo industry in the most productive and positive manner.

India is a country full of versatility and color, a photographer’s paradise. In order to cultivate the photography culture we have been investing in initiatives like Nikon School, Nikon professional services to be closer to the photography community and are happy to partner with this great magazine who has been instrumental in promoting the photography culture in this country among all age groups, as photography is one hobby and passion which is not bound by age!”

Post a Comment
Comments (1)
  • Satyanaraya- 8 years ago

    Can you kindly announce 'Honourable' mention of the competetion 'Nikon Photographer of the year 2010'