News as it is -

Best Media Info

Partner Content

India TV honours bravehearts with Salaam India Awards

Felicitates 13 winners at a ceremony in New Delhi on September 28, 2013

India TV honours bravehearts with Salaam India Awards

Felicitates 13 winners at a ceremony in New Delhi on September 28, 2013

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | October 1, 2013

Rajat Sharma at India TV Salaam India Awards

As a part of its initiative to honour bravehearts with the first edition of the ‘Officer’s Choice Salaam India Awards’, India TV has also instituted a bravery award in memory of Jyoti Singh, the brave girl who lost her life after fighting the gruesome gang rape in a bus in Delhi and in the process, awakened the society and the nation on crimes against women.

The Jyoti Singh Bravery Awards were presented at a ceremony in New Delhi on Saturday, September 28, 2013. Other categories for which the Awards were given away included Bravery, Gallantry and Special Awards.

The 13 winners included Shareef Ibrahim Kutty for risking his life to save many innocent lives, Late Barun Biswas (posthumous) for his crusades against anti-social elements & eventually putting up his life for the cause he lived for, Captain Bikramjeet Singh for his exemplary display of valour during the recent Uttarakhand crises. Lakshmi for her decisive fight against the menace of acid attacks was one of the three winners of the Jyoti Singh Awards.

India TV Chairman and Editor-in-Chief Rajat Sharma congratulated the winners and dedicated the awards to bravehearts of the nation who through their selfless and altruistic acts have kept the trust running in humanity. He also said that such deeds inculcate a spirit of courage and humanity among fellow citizens.

The winners were decided on the basis of a stringent process that included call for entries, short-listing by a high-power editorial board and final winners’ selection by a Grand Jury headed by noted jurist Ram Jethmalani. The jury included Rajat Sharma, India’s first woman IPS officer Kiran Bedi, Army Chief (Retd.) Gen VK Singh and Retired Chief Election Commissioner Dr SY Querashi.

Amongst the dignitaries present were LK Advani, Rajnath Singh, Murli Manohar Joshi, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Smriti Irani, Meenakshi Lekhi, Gulam Nabi Azad, Harish Rawat, Vijay Bahuguna, Shakeel Ahmed, Farooq Abdullah, Gen VK Singh, KC Tyagi of JDU, to name some.

Senior BJP leader Advani said, “I am glad that Rajatji initiated Salaam India Awards to honour the extraordinary courage displayed by ordinary citizens. As proven by the exceptional individuals here, bravery should not only be a characteristic to defence personnel. For the cause of the great nation that India is, individuals from every walk of life need to embody bravery and courage. This initiative by India TV is will act as a catalyst.”

Union Health Minister Gulam Nabi Azad observed, “Unlike other awards, Salaam India Awards have the genuine potential to inspire individuals to step forward and replicate such exemplary acts of bravery. A great benchmark initiative by India TV.”

Ritu Dhawan

Ritu Dhawan, MD and CEO, India TV, stressed on the need for such initiatives as humble but necessary steps towards a safer India. She also promised that India TV as a responsible news channel will keep on working on such initiatives that not only felicitate extraordinary people but also motivate the country at large.

List of Winners:

S.No. Name Award Category
Bravery Awards
1 Ms. Harbinder Kaur Bravery Awards
2 Mr. Shareef Ebrahim Kutty Bravery Awards
3 Constable Ganesh Manohar Sonawane Bravery Awards
Gallantry Awards
1 Ms. Akanksha Gaute Gallantry Awards
2 Ms. Arunima Sinha Gallantry Awards
3 Late Mr. Shri Barun Biswas Gallantry Awards*Father Mr. Jagdish Chandra Biswas received the award.
Jyoti Singh Awards
1 Ms. Razia  Sultan Jyoti Singh Awards
2 Ms. Varsha Deshpande Jyoti Singh Awards
3 Ms. Lakshmi Jyoti Singh Awards
Special Awards
1 Addl. S.P - Navneet Singh Bhullar Special Awards
2 Mr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyaan Special Awards
3 Captain Bikramjeet Special Awards
4 Col. Ajay Kothiyal, KC, SC, VSM Special Awards

Post a Comment