Rising Star Awards 2023- Winners

Best Media Info

Partner Content

Ramnath Goenka Awards For Excellence In Journalism

Siddharth Varadarajan of The Hindu gets Journalist of the Year award in the Print Category and Arnab Goswami gets Journalist of the Year in the Broadcast Category.

Ramnath Goenka Awards Given For Excellence In Journalism

Siddharth Varadarajan of The Hindu gets Journalist of the Year award in the Print Category and Arnab Goswami gets Journalist of the Year in the Broadcast Category.

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | July 23, 2010

Ramnath Goenka Awards for Excellence in Journalism for the year 2008-09 were given away yesterday in Delhi. As part of centenary year celebrations of its founder, Ramnath Goenka, The Express Group instituted the Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awards.

The awards were given to 29 categories, comprising political reporting, business, sports, environmental and entertainment journalism, investigative journalism and on-the-spot reporting.

The awards were chosen by an 11-member jury that included Infosys mentor and founder N R Narayana Murthy, senior Supreme Court advocate Fali S Nariman, Rajya Sabha member M S Swaminathan, HDFC chairman Deepak Parekh, film director Shyam Benegal and TV interviewer, marketing consultant Rama Bijapurkar and TV anchor and columnist Karan Thapar.

Three new categories were introduced last year which saw awards this year: On-the-spot Reporting, Investigative Reporting and Commentary and Interpretative Writing. A new award category for Journalism of Courage was also announced on the occasion. It was given to Indian Express correspondent Vijay Pratap Singh, who died on Tuesday night of the injuries he sustained in a bomb blast in Allahabad on July 12.

The Express group also released two books at the event — Idea Exchange, a collection of 47 interviews with top thinkers and opinion makers published in The Sunday Express, and Prize Stories, an anthology of the award-winning stories of 2007-08.

List of the winners:

Journalist of the Year (Print): Siddharth Varadarajan, The Hindu Journalist of the Year (Broadcast): Arnab Goswami, Times Now Journalism of Courage: Vijay Pratap Singh (Posthumously) Reporting from J&K & Northeast (Print): Teresa Rehman, Tehelka Reporting from J&K & Northeast (Broadcast): Arijit Sen, CNN-IBN Journalism Awards for Hindi (Print): Geetashree, Outlook Journalism Awards for Hindi (Broadcast): Abhisar Sharma, Aaj Tak Regional Languages (Print): Abhijit Vasant Ghorpade, Loksatta Regional Languages (Broadcast): Chunduri Venkata Satyanarayana, TV-9 Environmental Reporting (Print): Varghese C. Thomas, Malayala Manorama Environmental Reporting (Broadcast): Amey Vitthaldas Tirodkar, IBN Lokmat Uncovering India Invisible (Print): Jiji Paul, Malayala Manorama Uncovering India Invisible (Broadcast): Kamal Khan, NDTV India Business and Economic Journalism (Print): Puja Mehra, Business Today Business and Economic Journalism (Broadcast): Shweta Rajpal Kohli, NDTV Sports Journalism (Print): Mini Kapoor, The Indian Express Sports Journalism (Broadcast): Debayan Sen & Dhruv Varshney, ZEE Sports Film and Television Journalism (Print): Harneet Singh, The Indian Express Film and Television Journalism (Broadcast): Suresh Mathew & Rohit Khanna, CNN-IBN On-the-spot- Reporting (Print): The Hindustan Times Team, Mumbai On-the-spot-Reporting(Broadcast): Shamsher Singh, Headlines Today Investigative Reporting (Print): Shyamlal Yadav, India Today Investigative Reporting(Broadcast): Rajesaheb Nadaf, TV-9 Foreign Correspondent Covering India (Print): Joseph Leahy, Financial Times Commentary and Interpretative writing (Print): Saubhik Chakrabarti, The Indian Express Civic Journalism (Print): Mahesh Gupthan, Malayala Manorama Journalism Awards for Non- Fiction (Books): Harish Damodaran, India’s New Capitalists: Caste, Business and Industry in a Modern Nation Political Reporting (Print): Aditi Phadnis & Pranab Dhal Samanta, Business Standard & The Indian Express Political reporting (Broadcast): Ajit Anjum, News 24 Sanjiv Sinha Memorial award for reporting: Madhuparna Das, The Indian Express Priya Chandrasekhar Memorial award for editing: Amanpreet Singh, The Indian Express



Post a Comment