News as it is -

Best Media Info

Partner Content

Motion Content Group and Film Critics Guild announce the fifth edition of Critics’ Choice Awards

The awards recognise and honour the best of talent in feature films, short films, and web series

Motion Content Group - GroupM’s content investment, production, and distribution business - in collaboration with Film Critics Guild, and Vistas Media Capital have announced the fifth edition of the Critics’ Choice Awards.

The awards recognise and honour the best of talent in feature films, short films, and web series. 

The Critics’ Choice Awards is a body of critics from India that rewards talent and storytelling across languages, categories, and formats that determine the most pathbreaking work done in cinema and OTT in the year.

As per the awards body, this year they received a great response for the number of short film entries and currently the curation of short films, feature films and web series are underway. 

The Awards boast of 23 categories across feature films, short films, and web series this year - including two special awards for Gender Sensitivity and Extraordinary Contribution to Cinema.

Categories in feature films include Best Film, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Writing, Best Director, Best Editing and Best Cinematography. Short film includes Best Film (Fiction), Best Director (Fiction), Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Writing, Best Cinematography and for Web Series there are Best Series, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress and Best Writing. 

Some of the names that took home the Critics’ Choice Awards in 2022 are Samantha Ruth Prabhu for Best Actress (Web-Series – The Family Man S2), Konkona Sen Sharma for Best Supporting Actress (Web-Series - Mumbai Diaries 26/11) and Best Actress (Feature Film - Ajeeb Daastaans), Chaitanya Tamhane for Best Director, Best Writing (Feature Film – The Disciple) and Pratik Gandhi for Best Actor (Short Film – Shimmy).

Anupama Chopra, Chairperson - Film Critics Guild, commented, “The Critics’ Choice Awards celebrate their 5th anniversary this year. It is a momentous occasion for the Film Critics Guild. Once again, we are thrilled to celebrate the best in features, shows, and shorts. These awards have been meticulously curated by the 45 critics who comprise the Guild. It is our hope that our effort will bolster quality storytelling.” 

Ashwin Padmanabhan, President – Trading, Investment and Partnerships, said, “We live in strange times today, a creative environment on one side that seems to be losing its ability to tell stories that entertain and inspire audiences, and, on the flip, we have an explosion of story-telling and talent that is crossing the boundaries of culture, geography and languages to universally connect with audiences across the world, I would say a ripe time for creativity and expression! The Critics’ Choice Awards have over the years have been unique in recognising content and talent with no boundaries and I am sure the Critic’s Choice Awards 2023 is going to be no different! On behalf of Motion Content Group, I would like to thank all the creators who have brought to us some amazing stories and performances across Feature Films, Web Series and Short Films in 2022 and I wish you the best for the 5th edition of Critics’ Choice Awards.”

Abhayanand Singh, Co-Founder and Group CEO for Vistas Media Capital, said, “Vistas Media is extremely happy to announce the 5th edition of Critic’s Choice Awards. In a very short span of time, the awards have become a leading platform for recognising the best talent from all over the country in multiple languages. We are looking forward to honouring them as they continue to entertain us with quality content.” 

The complete list of winners for the previous editions can be accessed at:

Post a Comment