News as it is -

Best Media Info

Partner Content

Star Sports brings CPL to India; signs two-year deal with T20 league

The sports broadcaster will show all 34 matches live till September 16. The tournament kicked off with Shah Rukh Khan’s Trinbago Knightriders taking on the St Lucia Stars in Trinidad

Sports broadcaster Star sports will broadcast the cricket tourney Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and show all 34 matches live. The tournament started on August 8 with Shah Rukh Khan’s Trinbago Knightriders taking on the St Lucia Stars in Trinidad.

The tournament will feature the best cricketing talent from around the Caribbean with the likes of Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo and Daren Sammy all taking part. There will also be an array of global cricket superstars joining the biggest party in sport with David Warner, Steve Smith, Brendon McCullum, Chris Lynn and Shoaib Malik among the players competing.

Star Sports has signed two-year deal with the popular T20 league. Speaking about the deal with Star Sports, Pete Russell, COO of the Hero CPL, said, “Star Sports has a significant reach so we are delighted that the Hero CPL will be shown on Star’s TV network as well as Hotstar for the next two years. There are a huge number of star players from the IPL joining the CPL in 2018, giving fans in India another chance to watch their favourite cricketers in action.”

A Star India spokesperson said, “Star Sports is proud to become the home for the Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL). The inclusion of CPL to our existing bouquet of T20 leagues is a step forward in our endeavour to bring the best of cricketing action to fans in India. CPL will offer action-packed games every fan can enjoy."

First started in 2013, CPL is a franchise-based T20 format cricket tournament. A Combined broadcast and digital viewership over 197 million fans watched the 2017 season. Trinbago Knight Riders are the current Hero CPL champions and the other competing teams are Barbados Tridents, Guyana Amazon Warriors, St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots, St. Lucia Stars and Jamaica Tallawahs. This tournament began on August 8 and will end on September 16.

Post a Comment