News as it is -

Best Media Info

Partner Content

Times Now ICICI Bank NRI of the Year Awards 2017 honour global Indian achievers

The awards this year were open to all Non-Resident Indians, Overseas Citizens of India and Persons of Indian origin who reside in the US, Canada, UK, Middle East, Singapore, Australia and New Zealand.

Times Now and ICICI Bank jointly hosted the fourth edition of ‘Times Now ICICI Bank NRI of the Year Awards powered by Global Indian International School’ on July 11 in Mumbai. This season was organised as the NRI of the Year Awards 2017 to salute the spirit of the global Indian.

The NRI of the Year Awards this year were open to all Non-Resident Indians (NRI), Overseas Citizens of India (OCI) and Persons of Indian origin (PIO) who reside in the USA, Canada, UK, Middle East, Singapore, Australia and New Zealand. The high-profile jury comprised author Amish Tripathi, lyricist Prasoon Joshi, Satish Mahashinde, columnist Bachi Karkaria, and journalist Kumar Ketkar.

Chanda Kochhar, MD and CEO, ICICI Bank presented some of the key awards. She conferred the Global Indian Award for Sports and for Science, India’s Global Icon Award and the Global India Impact Award 2017 to the winners. The event was hosted by TV actor Karan Tacker and television presenter and singer Sophie Choudry.

Eminent personalities such as Baahubali actress Tamannaah Bhatia, Baahubali writer Vijayendra Prasad, actress Sana Khan, choreographer Terence Lewis and many more from the TV and Bollywood industry were present. Newly crowned Femina Miss India 2017 Manushi Chhillar, 1st Runner-Up Sana Dua and 2nd Runner-Up Priyanka Kumari were also present.

The fourth edition of the awards were conferred on 23 individuals under 11 different categories– Entrepreneur, Professional, Academics, Art & Culture, Philanthropy, Special Jury Award, India’s Global Icon Award, Global Indian Awards-Sports, Global Indian Awards-Science.

The NRI of the Year is India’s most distinctive award recognising the outstanding achievements of the Indian diaspora globally. Many NRIs are accomplished politicians, scientists, sportsmen, businessmen, professionals and academicians in various countries.

MK Anand, MD and CEO, Times Network, said, “As India’s leading English broadcast network with over 100 million viewers in India and presence in 100 countries globally, Times Network has the best credentials to globally survey and recognise outstanding Indians and present them to our society as our true gems. The NRI of the Year Awards is an important component of our engagement with a critical constituency, not just as a media group, but also for the country and its global agenda. Times Now is back with the fourth edition to salute the spirit of the global Indian.”

Vijay Chandok, Executive Director, ICICI Bank said, “ICICI Bank is happy to be associated with the ‘Times Now ICICI Bank NRI of the Year’ awards. These awards give us the opportunity to honour members of the NRI community who have made an impact on society.”

Naveen Chandra, Head, International Business, Times Network, said, “The NRI of the Year awards is the most distinctive awards for Indians globally and we have received an overwhelming 25,000 registrations online and the multiple jury rounds have ensured that the winners are of high quality. Among the winners this year are accomplished neurologists, oncologists, CEOs of global businesses and a former white house intern, and some very rich and accomplished Indians.”

Atul Temurnikar, Executive Chairman and CEO Global Schools Foundation, Singapore added, “We at Global Indian International School are proud to recognise the contribution of the Indian diaspora around the world. As a K-12 educational institution catering to students in seven countries, we hope to nurture our students into future global citizens like the distinguished individuals present today.”

List of Winners 2017


Name of the Winner


Global Indian Impact Icon

Baahubali –Tamannaah Bhatia and V Vijayendra Prasad (writer of Baahubali)


India’s Global Icon

Shri A. S. Kiran Kumar


Special Jury Award

Vilanyur Ramachandran


Global Indian Award – Science

Dr. Mylswamy Annadurai


Dr Koppillil Radhakrishnan


Global Indian Awards - Sports

Pankaj Advani



Suresh Bhargava

Asia Pacific

Shinjini Kundu


Simran Vedvyas

Middle East

Abhinav Singla

Middle East



Rhys Concessao


Byrappa Venkatesh

Asia Pacific

YKS Vishwanath


Kuppusamy Uthaman

Middle East


Sitharama Iyengar



Ronald Colaco

Middle East


Neil Parikh


Art & Culture

Dhanoday Srivastava



SanjeevTikam Mahtani

Asia Pacific

Shri Thanedar


Sanjay Pitalia


Birbal Dana

Middle East

Media Contact:

Marcelo Azavedo

Post a Comment