News as it is -

Best Media Info

Partner Content

CNN-News18 all set to honour iconic Indian

The IOTY award show on June 9 will not just honour people but also ideas that has impacted the lives of people in India

CNN-News18 all set to honour iconic Indians

The IOTY award show on June 9 will not just honour people but also ideas that has impacted the lives of people in India

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Mumbai | June 1, 2016


CNN-News18 in its flagship initiative ‘Indian of the Year’ (IOTY) will honour iconic Indians and organisations who made a significant contribution to our society with their achievements in 2015. The winners will be felicitated at a glittering ceremony to be held at Taj Palace, New Delhi on June 9, 2016.

Instituted in 2006, the CNN-News18 Indian of the Year has over the years achieved much prestige and credibility. The award distinguishes itself by celebrating not only exemplary individuals and their achievements but also the ideas that have inspired India and impacted lives.

Radhakrishnan Nair Radhakrishnan Nair

Commenting on the announcement of the awards, Radhakrishnan Nair, Managing Editor, CNN-News18, said, “I take great pride in the fact that Indian of the Year has seen immense success and acceptance as an institute that has over the years established itself as an exemplary model for Indian media awards. The 10th edition of the awards marks a tremendous milestone for CNN-News18 and we look forward to a great show honouring the winners.”

The awards adhere to a transparent and robust selection procedure that includes the editorial board drawing up a list of nominees, further leading to the final selection of winners by a jury comprising a select group of distinguished personalities.

This year’s jury panel includes Soli Sarabjee, former Attorney General of India, Kiran Karnik, former President of NASSCOM, Kunal Bahl, Co-Founder and CEO of Snapdeal, Harish Salve, leading lawyer and former Solicitor General of India, Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, Chairman and MD of Biocon, Deepak Parekh, Chairman of HDFC, Mohanlal V Nair, Noted Thespian and Leander Paes, tennis champion.

The categories under which the people and ideas will be awarded are sports, entertainment, business and public service, special achievement, outstanding achievement, special jury award and lifetime achievement. One individual/organisation will be bestowed with the coveted ‘Indian of the Year’ Award for their indelible contribution to society. Over the years, the recipients of this prestigious award have included the likes of PM Narendra Modi, NGO Stop Acid Attacks, Vishwanathan Anand, AR Rahman, Team Chandrayan and E. Sreedharan.

Post a Comment