News as it is -

Best Media Info

Partner Content

CNN-News 18 IOTY: People of Chennai win for service during floods

Kangana Ranaut, Sania Mirza, Leander Peas among other winners

CNN-News 18 IOTY: People of Chennai win for service during floods

Kangana Ranaut, Sania Mirza, Leander Peas among other winners

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Mumbai | June 10, 2016


In its tenth edition this year, CNN-News18 Indian of the Year 2015 continued to felicitate and celebrate the iconic Indian citizens who made a significant contribution to the society thereby inspiring the nation. Many eminent personalities were awarded under different categories including Balbir Singh Dosanjh, Sania Mirza, Kangana Ranaut, SS Rajamouli, Bindeshwar Pathak, and Leander Paes.

The People of Chennai were awarded the most prestigious Indian of the Year 2015 award for their marvellous effort and service during the floods. The awards night witnessed the presence of the most prominent personalities from all walks of life including names like Arun Jaitley, Nitin Gadkari, Kiran Rijiju, Sheila Dixit, amongst others.

The event which saw a grand turnout of dignitaries from all walks of life, was followed widely on social media and trended on twitter with #IndianoftheYear all through the evening. The audience included not just the ones seated at the venue but also across the nation since the event was telecast Live on CNN-News18 and the live blog on

Adil Zainulbhai Adil Zainulbhai

Adil Zainulbhai, Chairman, Network18, said, “CNN-News18 Indian of the Year is our endeavour to laud the inspiring citizens of our country by honouring them with this prestigious title which has set exceptional standards during the last decade and is amongst the most coveted awards India has seen. Today we mark its 10th Anniversary and I take immense pride in announcing the winners for 2015. Every year turns out to be significant in the history of our nation when such role models, as true ambassadors of brand India contribute to strengthening our society in their own field of work. It is a privilege of Network18 to honour such achievers.”

Instituted in 2006, the CNN-News18 Indian of the Year has over the years achieved prestige and credibility. The award distinguishes itself by celebrating not only exemplary individuals and their achievements but also the ideas that have inspired India and impacted lives of the citizens. The awards adhere to a transparent and robust selection process that includes the editorial board drawing up a list of nominees, further leading to the final selection of winners by a jury comprising a select group of distinguished personalities. This year’s jury comprised members like Soli Sorabjee, Harish Salve, Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, Deepak Parekh, Kiran Karnik, Leander Paes, Kunal Bahl and Mohanlal Nair.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitely said, “India is back on the global radar. Perception about India is undergoing a change. Some change we are about to make in the film certification process. In the next few days few radical changes will be announced.”

Radhakrishnan Nair Radhakrishnan Nair

Radhakrishnan Nair, Managing Editor, CNN-News18, said, “It is our great pride that Indian of the Year has achieved the 10-year milestone and is still considered one of the most prestigious awards in the country. From the People of Chennai to who worked selflessly during the floods to Bandhan banks who provided financial services to the poor, all the winners tonight make us proud Indians. I wish all of them hearty congratulations.”

List of Winners:

  • Sports: Sania Mirza
  • Business: Bandhan Financial Services
  • Public Service: The People of Chennai:
  • Entertainment: SS Rajamouli
  • Outstanding Achievement (Swachh Bharat): Bindeshwar Pathak
  • Outstanding Achievement (Make In India): United Technologies
  • Special Achievement Award: Kanga?na Ranaut and Ranveer Singh
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Balbir Singh Senior
  • CNN-News18 Indian Of The Year 2015: The People of Chennai
  • Special Jury Award: Leander Paes

Post a Comment