BuzzInContent Awards to be held on December 17, 2021

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks

CNN-IBN back with 9th edition of ‘Indian of the Year’

The voting for ‘Indian of the Year – Popular Choice’ is open only on Facebook

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | January 21, 2015


CNN-IBN is back with the ninth edition of its flagship initiative ‘CNN-IBN Indian of the Year’, in association with GMR, which over the years has become one of the biggest and most credible awards in Indian media. The award salutes iconic Indians who have made a significant contribution to India in the present calendar year. Hindustan Times has been the editorial partner of this initiative since its inception in 2006.

The year 2014 has been a momentous year in the history of India and has given rise to a set of role models who have been true ambassadors of brand India. These luminaries who have contributed to strengthening the foundation of our society in their own way are chosen from six different categories - Politics, Sports, Entertainment, Business, Public Service and Global Indian. The winners will be felicitated at a glittering ceremony to be held at Taj Palace, New Delhi on January 31, 2015.

Instituted in 2006, ‘CNN-IBN Indian of the Year’ has been the benchmark for credibility and transparency for providing complete information about the process of nomination and selection of the final winners. The selection criteria adhere to a unique and transparent process which includes nominations from the Network18 editorial board, ratified by a jury panel consisting of a select group of distinguished personalities.

In keeping with the brand’s constant endeavour to innovate and set up newer avenues of engagement with its audience, CNN-IBN has created exclusive content and a first-of-its-kind broadcast integration for people on Facebook to participate in the process of choosing their own ‘Indian of the Year’. Viewers can vote for their favourite nominee across all six categories on, crowning him/her as the ‘CNN-IBN Indian of the Year – Popular Choice’.

This unique Facebook integration will allow CNN-IBN to have dedicated segments through the voting period and showcase insights based on Facebook APIs. CNN-IBN will post native videos around the initiative and have nominee Q&A to build engagement, as a run-up to the event.

Over the years, the recipients of this prestigious award have included the NGO Stop Acid Attacks (2013), Indian Chess Grandmaster Vishwanathan Anand (2012), Anna Hazare (2011), Bihar CM Nitish Kumar (2010), A R Rahman(2009), G Madhavan Nair (2008), E Sreedharan (2007) and Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh (2006).

Avinash Kaul Avinash Kaul

Speaking on the occasion, Avinash Kaul, CEO, IBN Network, said, “We take immense pride in announcing the ninth edition of ‘CNN-IBN Indian of the Year’ awards. We have created a benchmark in lauding the most influential, deserving and dynamic Indians, over the years. The success of the award in the past has raised the bar for this initiative, and we are looking forward to a great show this year again. Our exclusive integration on Facebook is an attempt to engage with the younger and technologically savvy viewers and encourage them to vote for their favourite nominee.”

Radhakrishnan Nair Radhakrishnan Nair

Radhakrishnan Nair, Managing Editor, CNN-IBN, said, “‘Indian of the Year’ is our endeavour to acknowledge achievers who have been exceptional in their respective fields. We at CNN-IBN are privileged to bring them to the fore as an inspiration to others and honour them with these awards. We believe that our initiative on Facebook will add a new flavour to the award and engage a much wider audience.”

The nominee special episodes are being aired on the channel at 10 PM.

Post a Comment