Call for entries open for BuzzInContent Awards 2020 Enter Now

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks
Cannes Lions 2019

Guest Times

IAA Leadership Awards: Balki and Shashi Sinha are Creative & Media agency heads of year

At the 2nd edition of the awards held in Mumbai, Nitin Paranjpe was named CEO of the Year. While Ramesh Narayan was inducted into the Hall of Fame, Punit Goenka of Zee Network was voted Media Person of the Year. Shubhodip Pal of Micromax walked away with Marketer of the Year – Mobile Devices award

Sohini Sen | Mumbai | March 3, 2014

(L-R) S Swamy BL Joshi and R Balki (L-R) S Swamy BL Joshi and R Balki
(L-R) S Swamy, BL Joshi, and Shashi Sinha (L-R) S Swamy, BL Joshi, and Shashi Sinha

The Indian Advertising Association – India Chapter’s second edition of the IAA Leadership Awards, held in Mumbai on Saturday, March 1, was a star-studded affair. Held at the Grand Hyatt, the event was attended by the who's who of the advertising, marketing and media industry.

IAA Leadership Awards is looked at as one of the most prestigious awards in the communications business. That is because of the selection procedure as well as the fact that it is one of the very few awards which look at not just the advertising agencies but the clients as well.

"While management is about doing things right, leadership is about doing the right things, and that is what guided us," explained Srinivasan K Swamy, popularly known as Sundar Swamy, President, IAA India Chapter. This was evident from the shortlisted candidates in the 21 categories - some from the advertising field, some representing the media, and a whole list of marketers. The Governor of Uttar Pradesh, BL Joshi, presented the awards.

Chief Guest and Minister for Information & Broadcasting, Manish Tewari, who could not be present at the event, said in a special audio-visual, "The IAA Leadership Awards have always received profound appreciation in the industry. They recognise creativity on a large extent which eventually adds to being a source of inspiration. I would like to congratulate all the winners as well as the nominees – each of them has been instrumental in creating a huge difference in the marketing industry. May their future see them rise to even greater heights."

In its second year, the IAA Leadership Awards was not just a tougher challenge but also included a stricter selection procedure. This year, to make the process even more transparent and credible, the shortlists were selected on the basis of detailed desk research by Nielsen. This comprised but was not limited to market share, value and volume growth, advertising spends and also the innovative steps taken by the candidates. The official tabulator of the year was Ernst & Young.

This year's edition of the IAA Leadership Awards was presented by general entertainment channel, Colors. Raj Nayak, CEO of Colors, said, "To recognise, encourage and celebrate excellence in leadership – that is what we have done at the IAA, a vibrant association which I have had the opportunity to lead. I would like to thank IAA for giving us the honour to be associated with this event, and congratulate the winners for their outstanding contribution towards the growth of the industry. We look forward to growing this association with the IAA year-on-year and applaud the hard work of individuals on this national platform."

"The IAA Leadership Awards is the perfect mix of media and advertising. I am fortunate that I have a fantastic team and we closed 2013 in a good way, but my sense is that not only the company's performance but also how the industry is doing has led to the award," said Shashi Sinha, CEO, IPG MediaBrands. Sinha won the Media Agency Head of the Year award.

Zee Network's Punit Goenka, who won the Media Person of the Year award, commented, "It has been a pleasure and honour to get this award. 2014 will obviously be a tougher challenge than 2013. While IPL is a yearly phenomenon we have learnt to live with, the elections will be very interesting."

Among other media persons taking home an award were R Balkrishnan from Lowe Lintas (Creative Agency Head of the Year), Arnab Goswami from Times Now (News Anchor of the Year), Gulab Kothari from Rajasthan Patrika (Editor of the Year), Shah Rukh Khan and Priyanka Chopra as Brand Ambassadors of the Year.

The awards recognised exemplary leadership qualities in marketers. Marketer of the Year in the Banking segment went to Kartik Jain of HDFC Bank, while in the insurance industry it went to Sanjay Tripathy of HDFC Standard Life Insurance. There were 12 awards in different segments for the marketers, including mobile devices, e-commerce, auto, FMCG, etc.

Marketer of the Year (Mobile Devices) was won by Shubhodip Pal of Micromax. According to Pal, "It has been technically just a year and some months since its relaunch. We had a tough journey and we saw some stiff competition. It has been a year of a lot of ups and ups and ups and lot of innovation."

"This event is much looked forward to, in terms of recognising marketing talent. There are a lot of awards for advertisers and advertising agencies. But the clients are the ones who believe in those ideas and make it happen. Every category is different and the challenge in each category is different from the last. This is a true award for the industry," pointed out Sanjay Tripathy from HDFC Standard Life Insurance.

(L-R) S Swamy BL Joshi and Punit Goenka (L-R) S Swamy BL Joshi and Punit Goenka
(L-R) S Swamy BL Joshi and Arnab Goswami (L-R) S Swamy BL Joshi and Arnab Goswami
(L-R) S Swamy, BL Joshi, and Ramesh Narayan (L-R) S Swamy, BL Joshi, and Ramesh Narayan

List of Winners of IAA Leadership Awards: 

CEO of the Year: Nitin Paranjpe, Hindustan Unilever

Media Person of the Year: Punit Goenka, Zee Network

News Anchor of the Year: Arnab Goswami, Times Now

Editor of the Year: Dr Gulab Kothari, Rajasthan Patrika

Hall of Fame: Ramesh Narayan

Media Agency Head of the Year: Shashi Sinha, IPG Mediabrands

Creative Agency Head of the Year: R Balkrishnan ‘Balki’, Lowe Lintas & Partners

Brand Ambassador of the Year – Male: Shah Rukh Khan

Brand Ambassador of the Year – Female: Priyanka Chopra

Marketer of the Year – Banking: Kartik Jain, HDFC Bank

Marketer of the Year – Insurance: Sanjay Tripathy, HDFC Standard Life Insurance

Marketer of the Year – Auto 2-Wheeler: Anil Dua, Hero MotoCorp

Marketer of the Year – Auto Passenger Vehicles: Rakesh Srivastava, Hyundai Motor India

Marketer of the Year – Mobile Services: Shashi Shankar, Idea

Marketer of the Year – Mobile Devices: Shubhodip Pal, Micromax

Marketer of the Year – FMCG: Personal Care, Laundry and Toiletries: Arun Srinivas, Hindustan Unilever

Marketer of the Year – FMCG: Foods & Beverages: Rajesh V. L., ITC Foods Division

Marketer of the Year – FMCG: Consumer Durables: Sandeep Tiwari, Samsung India Electronics

Marketer of the Year – Home Improvement: Kumar Pillay, Ultratech Cement

Marketer of the Year – Household Products - Sonali Dhawan, Proctor & Gamble

Marketer of the Year – Ecommerce: Ravi Vora,

Post a Comment