Call for entries open for BuzzInContent Awards 2020 Enter Now

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks
Cannes Lions 2019

Guest Times

9th edition of NDTV Car & Bike Awards given away

Hyundai Grand i10 wins the Car of the Year Award & KTM Duke 390 was conferred with the Two Wheeler of the Year Award

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | January 14, 2014


It was time once again for the stalwarts of the Indian automobile industry to take centre stage at the much awaited NDTV Car and Bike Awards 2014. Presented by Mobil1, the ninth edition saw a gathering of the auto industry, car and bike aficionados and enthusiasts across the sector as the NDTV Car & Bike Awards felicitated the best among the best, showcased in NDTV’s highly acclaimed ‘The Car and Bike Show’. These Awards are the automobile industry’s most credible awards, presented annually by NDTV.

In a grand ceremony held at The Taj Palace Hotel, Delhi, hosted by Siddharth Vinayak Patankar and Sarah Jacob, Hyundai Grand i10 took the Car of the Year Award 2014, while KTM Duke 390 was awarded the Two Wheeler of the Year 2014. The ‘CNB Visioneer Award’ was given to Mr. Brijmohan Lall for his outstanding contribution to the Indian automobile industry.

The CNB Viewers’ Choice Awards for both Cars and Bikes provided NDTV viewers the exciting opportunity to vote for their favourite car and two wheeler nominees and stand a chance to take the year’s hottest wheels home. Ford EcoSport and TVS Jupiter were announced as the Viewers’ Choice car and Two Wheeler respectively.

Sachin Tendulkar was awarded (the Brand Ambassador of the Year for BMW whileMahindra Racing & Gaurav Gill was awarded the Mobil1 Motorsport Award. The evening was a celebration of the best design, unmatched technology, style and performances in the automobile industry and honoured the best vehicles and campaigns that dominated the market in 2013.

Speaking on the occasion, Siddharth Vinayak Patankar, Editor - Auto & Head Automobile Programming, NDTV said, “It’s with immense pride that we celebrate the deserving winners tonight. Our even more comprehensive jury scoring process ensures that we are truly honouring the years the most exciting and best cars, most capable and exhilarating two wheelers, and the most deserving people behind them.”

To ensure a full proof and fair selection process, each Jury member assesses and awards each nominee in complete isolation to other jurors. Each car and bike nominated is driven, evaluated and tested by the Jury along with a detailed research on each nominee's specifications; its market performance and its immediate competition also being provided to them. Tabulators at Ernst and Young monitored the entire process.

Winners List:


Category Winner
Entry Hatchback of the Year  Hyundai Grand i10
Subcompact Sedan of the Year  Honda Amaze
Midsize Sedan of the Year  Skoda Octavia
Entry Premium Car of the Year  Mercedes-Benz A-Class
Performance Car of the Year  Audi RS5
Sports Car of the Year  Jaguar F-Type
Supercar of the Year  Audi R8 V10 Plus
Sub-Compact SUV of the Year  Ford EcoSport
Compact SUV of the Year  Nissan Terrano
Premium SUV of the Year  Range Rover Sports
MUV of the Year  Ashok Leyland Stile
CNB Viewers’ Choice - Car of the Year  Ford EcoSport
Car Manufacturer of the Year  Hyundai Motor India
NDTV Car of the Year  Hyundai Grand i10
Category Winner
Motorcycle of the Year upto 110cc  Honda Dream Neo
Motorcycle of the Year upto 160cc  Honda CB Trigger
Motorcycle of the Year upto 500cc  KTM Duke 390
Motorcycle of the Year upto 1000cc  Royal Enfield Continental GT
Motorcycle of the Year above 1000cc  Harley-Davidson Street Glide
Scooter of the Year  TVS Jupiter
CNB Viewers’ Choice - Two Wheeler of the year TVS Jupiter
Two Wheeler Manufacturer of the Year  Honda Motorcycle and Scooter India
NDTV Two Wheeler of the Year  KTM Duke 390
Category Winner
Automotive Technology of the Year  Ecoboost Engine from Ford
NDTV Green Award  Mahindra e2o
Design of the Year  Jaguar F-Type & Royal Enfield Continental GT
CNB Visioneer Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Indian Automobile Industry  Brijmohan Lall
Automotive Man of the Year  Carlos Ghosn
Mobil1 Motorsport Award  Mahindra Racing and Gaurav Gill
CNB-AAA Awards
Category Winner
Creative Television Commercial of the Year (4 Wheeler)  Tata Nano
Creative Television Commercial of the Year (2 Wheeler)  Royal Enfield
Best Integrated Campaign of the Year

 (4 Wheeler)

 GM Enjoy
Best Integrated Campaign of the Year (4 Wheeler – Runner’s Up) Suzuki Apna Way of Life
Best Integrated Campaign of the Year (2 Wheeler) Royal Enfield
Best PR & Communications Team of the Year  Ford for Urban Discovery Campaign
Brand Ambassador of the Year  Sachin Tendulkar for BMW)

Post a Comment