Call for entries open for BuzzInContent Awards 2020 Enter Now

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks

BuzzInContent Awards

McCann bags strategic and creative mandate for Indian Badminton League

For McCann Worldgroup India, this win strengthens a sports mandate that includes Mumbai Indians, Star Sports and Hockey India League

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Mumbai | June 6, 2013

McCann Worldgroup India has been awarded the strategic and creative responsibilities for promoting the path-breaking Indian Badminton League (IBL). The IBL is a joint initiative of the Badminton Association of India and Sporty Solutionz, which is the commercial rights holder of the league for multiple years. With a purse of $ 1 million, IBL is the richest badminton league in the world.

The franchise-based league is set to take place in six cities across India and top-ranked players of the world have confirmed their participation. Indian stars Saina Nehwal, Jwala Gutta, Parupalli Kashyap, Ashwini Ponnappa and PV Sindhu among others will be seen at the inaugural edition.

Prasoon Joshi, President - South Asia, McCann Worldgroup, said, “We are happy to promote badminton and use our expertise in sport communication to further the game and the Indian Badminton League.”

For McCann Worldgroup India, the IBL strengthens a sports mandate that includes Mumbai Indians, Star Sports and Hockey India League. Alok Lall, Executive Director, McCann, commented, “It is a challenge to create a lasting impression for a sport other than cricket but that’s what drives us at McCann.” 

Speaking on roping in McCann Worldgroup, Ashish Chadha, CEO, Sporty Solutionz, said, “McCann Worldgroup under the able leadership of Prasoon Joshi fully comprehends the intrinsic qualities that badminton offers – family bonding, togetherness and, importantly, dignity to Indians as it is an Olympic sport and also clean. We look forward to forging a historic relationship with team McCann and expect to translate their century-old learnings globally into a memorable campaign.”

IBL will be held from August 14-31, 2013. The six franchise-based city teams featuring in the first edition of the IBL are Hyderabad Hotshots (Hyderabad), Rajdhani Smashers (Delhi), Mumbai Masters (Mumbai), Karnataka Kings (Bengaluru), Pune Vijetas (Pune) and Lucknow Warriors (Lucknow).

Post a Comment