BuzzInContent Awards 2021 Winners Announced

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks

ESS bags ICC rights in the Caribbean

The agreement includes Champions League Twenty20 for the Caribbean through 2015 and the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | June 28, 2012

ESPN International has entered into a cricket distribution agreement for the Caribbean with ESPN Star Sports (ESS) for International Cricket Council (ICC) events and the Champions League Twenty20 running uptil 2015, it was announced yesterday by Bernard Stewart, Vice-President, ESPN Caribbean and Maritime Media.

The ICC agreement is a four-year deal from 2012 to 2015 and covers several ICC events, including the global showpiece of the cricket calendar, the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup, in Australia and New Zealand.  The distribution agreement covers terrestrial, cable, satellite and new media platform rights. ICC programming will be presented on two ESPN Caribbean television networks -- ESPN Caribbean and ESPN 2 Caribbean -- and on, the region’s recently launched broadband network for live sports programming.

ESPN Caribbean’s upcoming cricket coverage includes the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup in Tony Ireland Stadium, Townsville, Australia, from August 10-25; the ICC World Twenty 20 in Sri Lanka from September 18-October 7; and the Champions League Twenty20 in October (location and exact dates to be announced).

List of ICC Events 2012-2015

ICC Event Date Venue
ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup August 2012 Australia
ICC World Twenty20 September / October 2012 Sri Lanka
ICC Women’s World Cup March 2013 India
ICC Champions Trophy June 2013 England
ICC World Twenty20 April 2014 Bangladesh
ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup February/March 2014 United Arab Emirates
ICC Cricket World Cup February/March 2015 Australia

The Champions League Twenty20 agreement extends ESPN’s current three-year deal by three more years covering 2013-2015. The agreement covers all of ESPN Caribbean’s media platforms including the two networks, ESPN Caribbean and ESPN 2 Caribbean, and

The Champions League Twenty20 brings the best club teams from top cricket playing nations, including the West Indies, Australia, England, New Zealand and South Africa, together in one of the major cricket competitions worldwide.  Organizers have announced that Pakistan and other nations will be added this year.

The winner of the Caribbean Twenty20–to which ESPN Caribbean holds the rights through 2013 – will represent the West Indies in the CLT20. Trinidad and Tobago, the 2011 representative, will return this year.

“We are delighted to again showcase talented cricketers from the West Indies who will play in the ICC World Twenty20 and the Champions League Twenty20 later this year, as well as the crown jewel of cricket – the ICC Cricket World Cup – in 2015,” said Bernard Stewart, vice president, ESPN Caribbean and Maritime Media. “Cricket is essential to our programming in the West Indies and has a dynamic following there.  This long-term agreement reinforces our commitment to providing world-class cricket to Caribbean fans.”

“We have succeeded in securing some very significant long-term broadcast partnerships for the ICC events and we are very pleased to be working with ESPN to showcase an exciting calendar of ICC cricket events in this cricket market,” said ESPN Star Sports’ Anurag Dahiya, Senior VP, Corporate Development & Cricket Rights. “This exciting partnership underscores our commitment to serving cricket fans in the Caribbean.”

Post a Comment