BuzzInContent Awards 2020 - December 9, 2020 CLICK HERE

Best Media Info

Editor’s Picks
BuzzInContent Awards

Sera Bangali honors 13 progressive Bengalis who said no to negativity

Sera Bangali is a pioneering effort by STAR Ananda for Bengalis who have made their state proud through their achievement

May 11, 2012:

It was famously said that what Bengal thinks today, the rest of India thinks tomorrow. The state has been a playing field for visionaries who emerged as thought leaders and have shown the way to rest of the countrymen. They have swim against the tide and grown to the pinnacle by just saying no to the negativity. The state has given the nation luminaries whose achievements are woven into a tapestry by their excellence. STAR Ananda, Bengal's leading news channel celebrates this excellence through Sera Bangali. Sera Bangali is a pioneering effort by STAR Ananda since 2006 for Bengalis and people from West Bengal who have made their state proud through their achievement. This biggest, best and most credible award function felicitates eminent personalities who have not only achieved excellence in their respective fields but have also helped to bring Bengal in the national as well as international limelight. The awards are presented in a plethora of categories like art, film, music, education, business, science, sports and lifetime achievement. After runaway success of past 6 years, Bengal has now welcomed 2012 Sera Bangalis. The celebration was held on 11th May 2012, at Science city auditorium, Kolkata. It was a star studded event which started with a grand felicitation ceremony followed by a scintillating entertainment show.

The winners of Sera Bangali 2012 in various categories:

Category Awardee
Film (Actor) Saswata Chatterjee
Film (Direction) Srijit Mukherji
Music Anupam Roy
Sports Manoj Tiwari
Sports Shakib Al Hasan
Public Life Ruchira Gupta
Education Sushanta Dattagupta
Science Sumantra Chatterji
Business Vinayak Chatterjee
Art Lalu Prosad Shaw
Sera Abishkar Aneek Dutta
Lifetime Achievement Sunil Gangopadhyay
Serar Sera Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee

The nominees were selected following an in-depth research made by the MCCS Editorial team.

Past Sera Bangalis have included luminaries like Pranab Mukherjee- Minister of Finance, Dr Muhammad Yunus- Economist and winner of Nobel Peace Prize, Sourav Ganguly, Mithun Chakraborty, Rahul Bose and Anurag Basu.

Speaking on the occasion, Ashok Venkatramani, CEO, MCCS, “We have dedicated ourselves to the recognition and felicitation of those personalities who have made Bengal proud and continue to do so. Sera Bangali is the truest effort in this direction to recognize those successful Bengalis, who not only have excelled in their respective fields, but have also helped in putting Bengalis in the global arena.”

The entertainment that follows the award function saw performances by distinguished artists like Kunal Ganjawala and Debojyoti Mishra.The ground event this year had more than 3000 visitors. The event was aired live and is expected to reach over 50lcs people of Bengal and even outside. During the event the audience who couldn’t make it to the ground gets glued to the TV sets, which is reflected in the astonishing viewership of the programme in past. The 360 degree integrated communication plan ensures enough hype leading to the function and coverage across TV, print, radio and outdoors.

STAR Ananda plays the role of the true leader by connecting these luminaries with the people. This is in accordance with the channel's aim of reflecting and catalyzing the growth and resurgence of Bengal and also celebrating excellence.


Post a Comment