News as it is -

Best Media Info

Partner Content

CNBC-TV18 Gives Away IT User Awards 2010

Sachin Pilot, Minister of State for IT and Communications felicitated the winners in a gala ceremony in Mumbai.

CNBC-TV18 Gives Away IT User Awards 2010

Sachin Pilot, Minister of State for IT and Communications felicitated the winners in a gala ceremony in Mumbai.

BestMediaInfo Bureau | Delhi | September 30, 2010

NASSCOM, the apex body of the Indian IT industry and CNBC-TV18, 1st in business worldwide, hosted the third edition of the most distinguished honours for excellence in IT application - ‘IT User Awards 2010’, in Mumbai on September 28, 2010. The ‘IT User Awards’, India’s first of its kind initiative, are conferred to organisations that have dedicated resources, capital, time and research to IT and its implementation. Sachin Pilot, Minister of State for Information Technology and Communications, was the chief guest of the award ceremony while Sudha Pillai, Member Secretary, Planning Commission was the guest of honour. The evening also witnessed the presence of stalwarts in Indian IT Sector like Harsh Manglik, Chairman, NASSCOM, amongst others.

Speaking on the occasion, Sachin Pilot, Minister of State for Information Technology and Communications, said, “The award is necessary to recognize, applaud, award individuals, entrepreneurs to carry on good work. Our policy is directed to help every needy and with the help of technology millions of people can be reached. In India, our highest percentage of GDP is dedicated to IT sector. Irrespective of what happens in other countries, in India, we should be able to take up challenges. Our focus should be invert, more on domestic market. We, as government, are doing everything possible to encourage, help IT sector. Big organizations can also push and nurture smaller companies. Our plan is that by 2012, every panchayat in India will be given access to high speed broadband. The government has been very pro-active to bridge the gap between rural and urban, haves and have-nots with technology”.

Sudha Pillai, Member Secretary, Planning Commission, added “The recognition and awarding will catalyze IT’s use in achieving strategic objectives. I believe that even the government cannot manage to function without IT. It is required for implementing agendas, and etc. To promote investment in IT and development of its infrastructure, government has taken the initiative of setting up IT townships. In future, we would like to see more and more inventions. We want to see such growth that almost everyone can use IT”.

Commenting on the awards, Suresh Venkat, Technology Editor, Network 18 said, ‘’Indian companies have maximised their efficiency through consumption of information technology. This has not only increased their productivity but also helped in synergizing operations and functional automations and creating new business models. Through ‘IT User Awards’ we aim to acknowledge the hard work of the various sectors that have progressed by using IT for their work and also to motivate others to join them.”

Speaking about the event, Rama Vedashree, Vice President, NASSCOM said, “The domestic IT market in India is currently at an inflection point, with enterprises across large, medium and small, building a roadmap for technology adoption.  This year’s award winners are a cross-section of Public and Private Sector Enterprises that have enabled business benefits through IT solutions. NASSCOM and its members are committed to collaborating with Indian Industry in driving an increased adoption of IT and we hope to see more success stories and new categories of winners in the years ahead.”

This year’s IT User Award winners are:

Category Company
Energy & Utilities BPCL
Manufacturing Marico Ltd.
Retail Shopper's Stop Limited
Telecom Tata Teleservices Ltd
Automotives Maruti Suzuki India Ltd.
Travel & Logistics BIAL
Travel & Logistics Meru Cab Company Pvt. Ltd
Banking State Bank of India
Insurance ICICI Lombard General Insurance Company Ltd.
Health & Pharma Allergan India Pvt. Limited
Financial Services Bombay Stock Exchange

The winners were selected based on a robust multiphase methodology powered by The Nielsen Company. A jury comprising of S Ramadorai-Vice Chairman, TCS (Chair of Jury), Dr. Ashok Jhunjhunwala- IIT Chennai, Dr. Jai Menon- Group Director IT, Bharti Enterprises, B. SambaMurthy- Director IDRBT, ex-CMD Corporation Bank, Charles Assisi- Executive Editor, Forbes India, Neelam Dhawan- Managing Director, HP India, David Briskman- VP & Chief Information Officer, Ranbaxy & Pravir Vohra- Group CTO, ICICI Bank selected the winners after a comprehensive and in-depth survey.

Post a Comment